We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub to stay in with your four legged friend”
Review of The Royal Oak Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Oak Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Withypool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub to stay in with your four legged friend”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed at this lovely old pub in exmoor for three nights. Made my husband and myself very welcome and our little dog even more welcome, on arrival we was shown to a very clean, nice smelling and well equipped room, there was even a towel and blanket for our dog and a bowl with welcome biscuits.Breakfast was excellent. All the staff are very helpful and friendly. (Unlike some pubs/hotels that insult you with shabby rooms because you have a dog, the Royal Oak spoils you with genuine 4*accommodation) Totally recommend a real treat. Well done to all at the Royal Oak Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    43
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
14
82
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We love the Royal Oak at Withypool and this was our third visit. It is ideally located for long moorland walks and offers a warm welcome on return. The rooms are quirky - as befits an old Inn - but immaculately clean and comfortably kitted out. Breakfast is special - check out the berries compote with yoghurt and follow with any of the delicious mains. I think the mushrooms are superior to any I've had elsewhere - must be the Exmoor terroir.

Jeanette runs the place in ship shape manner, nothing is too much trouble and she always has time for a chat - or more likely - a good old laugh. Indeed we had excellent service from the whole team.

Room Tip: Telephone to ask about the differences between the rooms - some don't have showers because of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We've recently had a weeks break on Exmoor staying a 5 minute walk up the lane from the Royal Oak. After our days out, walking mainly, visiting this inn in the evening was just the ticket for us. The atmosphere of this place is lovely. Jeanette & the other girls all have a friendly word if they're not busy. We ate here a couple of times & the meals were excellent, couldn't be faulted. It is advisable to book for meals especially at weekends as they do get very busy at times. Finally a word for Jake. What a great barman & character he is. Listening to him certainly adds to the atmosphere.

Room Tip: We haven't seen the rooms so can't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Erth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This evening my wife returned from her days work at FitFarms UK and after being up since 5 am this morning wanted to relax, have a drink and a meal.
So we drove over to "The Royal Oak" at Withypool some 6 miles from our home.
Jake (best barman in the world!) was his usual friendly self. Really nice oldy world atmosphere.
We met Jeanette (manageress of the Inn) outside and she instantly reserved a table in "Jakes Bar" for us.
Pint of Carlsberg and A pint of "Exmoor Gold" Ale were had , decent conversation and then we ordered our food
I had the "Royal Oak" mixed grill this was a good plate full. Steak,Lamb Chop,Kidneys,Black Pudding,Onion rings,Chips,side salad,Large mushrooms and tomatoe. Perfect in every way and at a very reasonable price.
My wife had the Lasagna whice she said was excellent.
Well what next....Another two pints and dessert.
Sticky toffee pudding, caramel sauce and two balls of vanilla ice cream
Creme Brulee.
Again bothe really nice. Now were full!
Bill paid, Leave a Tip for the staff and thank them!
So what to do! Come and stay at the Royal Oak, Come and Eat at The Royal Oak.
You will not be disappointed!!
Oh by the way..The rooms are nice too!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRURO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a welcome retreat with friendly staff, especially on a cold day out on Exmoor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIZ151247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This review is based on a short stay we had with friends over New Years Eve. We found the staff to be very friendly and welcoming and the service equally as good at all times. The food was excellent with a great choice all cooked and presented very well, and at reasonable cost. The rooms are functional with plenty of draw and clothing space, comfy beds and kept very clean by the housekeep. The evenings in the 'olde world' bar were great - open log fire and Exmoor ale made you feel part of the furniture. There are several walks out from the village, all with varying degrees of difficulty, and the local post office has a ready supply of local booklets with all start points and routes etc. We selected a walk down river the Tarr steps, and the reward for reaching this is the sister pub to the Royal Oak - equally welcoming and good quality food. We did this walk in the rain which makes underfoot conditions quite treacherous in some places, so tread carefully. Overall we enjoyed a fantastic three days, and would definitely be back for more. As a footnote - there is little or no mobile signal, and free Wi-Fi connection is sporadic.

Room Tip: Room 10 was the best of the three we saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Having stayed at Tarr Farm a couple of years ago we fancied another country break. The Royal Oak is, I understand, owned by the same people but is a bit cheaper and more of a traditional pub.
Another review suggested that the rooms needed a refurb; I completely disagree. Ours was very comfortable and had a great deal of character, much nicer than Tarr Farm (where the decor and furnishings are rather generic). Too often 'refurbishing' involves stripping a room of its character and leaving it with a generic, boring atmosphere.
Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. I know that this could be a question of taste, but the eggs really weren't up to much. Small quibble.
Great place for a weekend break, anyway.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0binbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Withypool
1.8 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
10.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
5.1 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Royal Oak Exmoor
Royal Oak Exmoor
#1 of 2 in Winsford
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Farm
King's Farm
#2 of 2 in Withypool
59 reviews
2.5 mi away
Tarr Farm Inn
Tarr Farm Inn
#1 of 2 in Tarr Steps
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Inn

Property: The Royal Oak Inn
Address: Withypool, Withypool, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Withypool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Withypool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Withypool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing