We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utterly Awsome”
other travelers have booked this property
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
178 reviews
LED lights enhance the natural beauty of red cedar in the evenings
The canopy creates a year-round sheltered, magical outdoor space
The balcony has views to the Long Mynd and the evening sunset
Rain shower, heated towel rail, demister mirror, dressing area
The waterfall at the rear in full flow with the triple-glazed door open
Enjoy the view from the hot tub with jets, waterfall and mood lighting - even if it's raining
Sitting area with fire bowl with subdued outdoor lighting
One of several seating areas
Try and then buy a Kadai firebowl at the manufacturer's Wilstone Outlet, Leebotwood (5 mins drive)
Approaching Oaks Lodge along the gravel pathway with floor level LEDs
Returning to Oaks Lodge in the dark
Watching the fireworks over Church Stretton from the balcony/pathway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 178 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jonny G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utterly Awsome”
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have travelled extensively throughout our country and this is by far the best holiday accommodation we have stayed in. The woodland setting is sublime. Anyone who loves The Lake District will fall in love with The Shropshire Hills as we did. This is a solid Five star luxury self catering woodland retreat. We will be 100% returning to this very quiet and secluded hideaway, hopefully very soon. In fact if we could pluck the cabin from here and take it with us on all of our future holidays in the U.K we would. As Mark & Sara seem to have thought of everything to ensure a perfect holiday. The hot tub was fantastic, especially on the one day of rain. We just sat in it and watched the rain fall in the woods and listened to the waterfall and the stream. Totally idyllic.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodland setting and high spec accommodation.
Liked least: The slightly long walk to the car, which is to be expected being a secluded location. So not a bother really.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
E7778ARda...
Monument
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A lovely little hide away. Like having your own private retreat. Great amenities; hot tub, kitchen, front porch, BBQ, and fire pit. Loved the birdsong, flowers, and peacefulness. The hosts were fantastic, even leaving a bottle of Prosecco for us to celebrate our anniversary with. Great host, great place, just big enough to feel roomy but small enough to remain cozy. There is a bit of a walk to the Retreat with several stairs so I am not sure about how people with disabilities or limited mobility would cope.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and solitude.
Liked least: Bed was too hard for our taste.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toribra22
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave! ”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Oaks retreat is by far the most luxurious place I have yet to stay in. Sara went the extra mile to make sure we were happy from before our trip helping me organise it as a surprise to making sure we had everything we needed. We did not want to leave and would love to go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegoscra...
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed May 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I visited this lovely hideaway for a weekend, we can find no fault with the facilities and if it's a romantic place you are looking for, this is it! The only noise we could hear was birds singing and water running from the waterfall at the back of the property, we made the most of the hot tub, perfect weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay here for Shropshire”
Reviewed May 16, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the excellent communication, including directions ,to the stay itself the experience here will be used to compare against any future holiday let in the country It was recommended by a friend and I will further recommend it to others.The location is situated in the rear of the owners garden, which does not sound great but rest assured it is private. We stayed for 4 nights and wish we had stayed longer. there is a reasonable walk from parking to lodge with a gravel path ( part of the planning permission I understand) so it was awkward to carry the suitcase but it was well worth it.It felt so much like a home that i would personally have liked a shelf in the heated bathroom to place our tooth brush etc.. if we return to the area it will be the place we return to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole holiday
Liked least: nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing