We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This apartment is well designed, beatifully...”
other travelers have booked this property
Standing at the gateway to Carding Mill Valley.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Standing at the gateway to Carding Mill Valley.
A room with a view - double aspects windows with far reaching views. A fine Arts & Crafts country house fully renovated to offer comfort and style.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Standing at the gateway to Carding Mill Valley.
A room with a view - double aspects windows with far reaching views.
A fine Arts & Crafts country house fully renovated to offer comfort and style.
With views over the Caradoc and the Shropshire Hills.
Spend a cosy night by the fire.
Many original Art & Crafts features with every modern convenience.
Sumptuous king size  bed to relax and unwind.
Ensuite shower room with a magnificent view.
Ensuite shower room with stone mullioned window.
Fully fitted kitchen with washer/dryer, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, ceramic hob and oven.
Arden House offers a warm welcome.
Entrance to the Mackintosh Apartment.
Entrance to the Mackintosh Apartment.
The garden in full bloom.
A woodland walk through the garden.
With views across the Long Mynd.
With views over the Caradoc.
Carding Mill Valley is outside the front door!
Located in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Perfect for watching the sun go down.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David N
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This apartment is well designed, beatifully funrished and well equipped for a weekend walking or a longer holiday”
Reviewed October 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in the Makintosh Apartment during our participation in the Longmynd Hike ( 50 miles overnight). The apartment was a perfect base for this event and our hosts Ian and Julie could not have been more supportive and understanding of our needs. We have stayed in a number of apartments in our travels around the UK and the Makintosh is outstanding. The house has been designed in the Arts and Crafts School and the apartments have maintained this theme throughout. It is tastefully furnished and practical in the way it has been equipped. It is situated a short walk from the centre of Church Stretton and has the advanantage of a quiet and peaceful location. Ian and Julie are very knowledgeable about all of the wonderful oportunities for walking, cycling and indeed running locally and the wider range of interesting activities in the area. Their knowledge and friendly enthusasm ensure you make the best use of your time in Shropshire.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our accomodation and our hosts were fully supportive of our needs when participating in an endurance event.
Liked least: Not applicable
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2015
Both : Thank you for your review and your kind comments. Its very nice for us when guests comment on style and comfort given the time we spent to offer guest the best stay possible. Thank You very much.

Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
imlandles...
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply the best - better than all the rest!”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We cannot speak highly enough about our stay at Arden House. The Mackintosh suite was stylish and very comfortable. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful. Church Stretton is an ideal hill walking location with a variety of great walks literally on the doorstep of Arden House - no need to use the car. There are also several excellent restaurants within a short distance. We have already recommended to several friends. We'll be back!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 1, 2015
Both : Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and thank you for your kind comments on both our accommodation and our area. You certainly made the most of your stay and managed to do so much. Nice to meet you.

Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent rental property”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Mackintosh apartment is a stylish, well presented property finished to a high standard. Although on the edge of Church Stretton it is a short walk into the centre of town which has lots of amenities.
The apartment is well equipped and very comfortable.
There are 28 steps up to the apartment which may not be suitable for everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious lounge and comfortable bed
Liked least: Smallish shower
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2015
Thank you for your comments. After a lot of hard work and thought with style and design it is very rewarding to receive feedback such as yours. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Church Stretton.

Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Another Fantastic Weekend at Arden House”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have been staying with Julie and Ian at Arden house for three years now, previously when it was a B&B. This recent stay has been our first since the extensive work they have carried out to turn the property into luxury self catering apartments. And luxurious they are!! As always the welcome from Ian and Julie was warm and friendly, they make us feel we are almost part of the family. We had seen the plans to transform Arden House into luxury apartments but you have to see it to believe how fantastic they are. The kitchens are equipped with high spec equipment and a welcome pack is provided. Even the small items e.g. kitchen foil, cling film have been thought of. The house has lost none of its charm since being adapted, all of the building work both exterior and interior have blended in well with the character of the building. The location couldn’t be better, right at the foot of Cardingmill Valley with wonderful views from the house. Ideal for walking or even just relaxing in the luxury of the apartment. We are taking friends to stay again over the Christmas/New Year Period in the Turret Penthouse Suite, which is amazing, and have also booked another weekend in May next year. Once you have visited you will most certainly want to return. We cant wait to go back. See you at Christmas Ian and Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - you couldnt fault anything.
Liked least: Nothing - it is perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2015
Wow – thanks for taking the time to post such an outstanding review. We took great care to retain the character of the house, whilst ensuring our guests have every modern convenience and of course, the location is fantastic. It will be great to see you again at Christmas and meet your friends. I can’t recall how many times you have stayed at Arden House but every time has been a pleasure - despite you supporting the opposition! All our very best wishes - Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guy and I...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Absolute luxury with great attention to detail and the added personal touch”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This was our second visit to Arden House, but our first since it's re-invention as Self-Catering Apartments (previously B&B). What a magnificent transformation! The superb furnishings, top quality appliances, brilliant beds and attention to detail remain as before ... but the added the added ingredient of independence makes this a potent leisure cocktail!! Perched above Church Stretton, but within 5 minutes of the village centre on foot, the location is superb. The walking country that forms the surrounding Shropshire countryside is one of England's hidden gems. We were made very welcome by Ian and Julie and we had a wonderful relaxing time. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Bed
Liked least: Having to come home
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2015
It was great to welcome you both back to Arden House and show you around our new self-catering apartments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and liked our transformation! We have tried to retain the style and character of the house, whilst providing a very comfortable and relaxing atmosphere. Thank you both for posting such and excellent review and we really enjoyed spending time with you at the Blues and Roots Festival. All our best wishes and see you next year, Ian & Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve S
Ringstead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A difficult place to leave - especially in sunshine!”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We worried that Arden House would lose its charm when it went over to self-catering apartments but we needn't have. Its character and style have remained unchanged - It's simply gorgeous! Ian and Julie have worked hard to ensure that guests have every comfort and still make you feel part of the family. Even when it does rain outside you feel warm and snug in a beautiful elegantly-furnished environment. And of course, the house's wonderful location is ideal for anyone who loves the Shropshire hills.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful hosts - sumptuous accommodation.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2015
Thank you both for your wonderful review – it really means a great deal to us. We have made every effort to retain the character and style of the house, we love it and we’re delighted you liked it too. You are the first of our regular guests to experience our new self-catering apartments and ‘simply gorgeous’ is an amazing response!

You know there will always be a pot of tea waiting for you when you arrive – hope to see you again very soon. Ian, Julie & Joyce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing