We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real treat !”
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $28
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Plough Inn is a beautifully restored comfortable and friendly country pub, nestling in the Shropshire Countryside midway between Much Wenlock and Church Stretton. You can be sure of a warm welcome during your visit, where you will find a great offer of home cooked seasonal foods, superbly nurtured cask ales and great wines all wrapped up in an ambiance second too none. The Plough Inn...A Traditional Ale House with Country Dining has something for everyone...Quirky & Interesting, Log fires & Nostalgia plus a great deal more and dogs are welcome with well trained owners.
Cemaes Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real treat !”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Looking for a place for a meal between Anglesey and Cheltenham, I landed on the Plough after an internet search of the area south of Shrewsbury, and was not disappointed.
Lovely atmosphere on entering, large open fire in the snug, very friendly staff, superbly cooked food, and that final tester - a real mint chocolate with the coffee !
The king prawns melted in the mouth, the fish in batter and chips were outstanding, and the rum and raisin icecream to die for.
We were given every attention, in a most friendly way, and would recommend the Plough to anyone. It is easily found from Church Stretton lights, and well worth a visit.
Thank you to the Staff.for making the visit such a pleasure.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    32
    12
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sunday lunch.”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I were at a loose end , I didnt want to cook, so we opted to go out for sunday lunch..We live very near to the Plough Inn and after a quick read on Trip Advisor, decided to go to the plough.
We were not dissapointed. We phoned to make the reservation and I got a warm, friendly response on the phone and booked our table.
The pub itself is a very unasuming building...looks more like a lovely old farm house than a pub - very quaint and in keeping of where it is...in the country. The guy behind the bar
(Steven - I think) was friendly and took our drinks order, then showed us through to our table..The dining room is very unpretenious...and I loved it...a warm friendly atomosphere, a real log fire burning and everybody looking happy and relaxed.
There was a small wait for the starter, but Steven let us know the chef knew we were here, the staff kept you informed so you wernt left sitting there thinking they had forgotten about you. Nice touch.
The food was tasty' fresh' and nicely presented..We all had the butterfly prawns to start...mmmmmmmmm...yummy...with a sweet chili dipping sauce...Then we had roast beef and yorkshire pudding...The beef melted in your mouth the veg all fresh and in season and the yorkshires' were huge! My partner had a sweet of chocolate torte, a nice slice not too much and came with pouring cream. He said it was very sweet and very nice.
To conclude, We all loved our lunch at the Plough Inn and WILL be returning. The staff are friendly and very iffecient, but not over bearing. The food is good honest local grub, cooked well and presented lovely. Try it, you wont be dissapointed.
Thanks guys for great service and great food and what a bargain on the price...you would be hard pushed to get this level of food and service anywhere else ...Bonus!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous steak best in shropshire!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Me my boyfriend and our friend visited here one saturday evening all starving we opted for the rump steak which was served with vine tomatoes homemade onion rings and a salad garnish the steak was tender juicy and fantastic being a big steak fan i had to have a sauce to accompany it so i had shropshire stilton sauce not on the menu but chef andy was eager to accomodate and the sauce was delicious. Staff are all friendly and eager to please being under the new management has changed this pub around the pub is clean and warm food excellent and beer although pregnant myself my partner assures me its very good. All i can say is forget all the previous managements and hear say give the plough a go and you wont be dissapointed. Sundays are now also very busy will be back here again again the steak we had was one of the best in shropshire!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staceylea23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff are friendly and efficient.The food is far superior to you average pub grub. Some areas still need refurbishing but they are focussing on food first!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Goldenoldies1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“quaint inn”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

lovely food quaint atmosphere warm fire helpful staff individual servuce enjoyed our visit took over the dining room i think

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing