We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch....”
Review of The Longmynd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Longmynd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A stunning 3 course sunday lunch...
I can not fault the food and the value. The prawn and smoked slamon starter was lovely almost too much for a starter! The rack of lamb was perfectly cooked with lots of vegetables at no extra cost which is a refreshing change. The service was excellent, staff very friendly and helpful

I will be returning with friends

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 249 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

First the good.. the staff are lovely; the food was good; the room was big; the views are stunning when its not bogging down with rain and misty. As you can see from the photo it is set above Church Stretton.

But the en suite was miniscule (room 53) and as a fairly soild 6ft 2 er could not fit in the shower properly - its triangular and like a half shower base (?) and had to sit sort of sideways on the loo as my legs were too long to fit in the space. There was sufficient space in the room for the en suite to have been made bigger. I dread to think how serious walkers clarted up to the eye balls do! I showered with the shower door open if that is any help to anyone!

Also there were two radiators and as it was absolutely sub tropical when I got there it took me a while to figure out which one was working. Despite switching the radiator off and opening a window it took some time to cool down. I did get things sussed for the second night and had a more comfortable time then.

The loo was a saniflow so does make some funny noises - as do the others around and about.

I was at a conference .. and I have to say if I had been there for a holiday I could have been disappointed... the en suite would have been off putting. Others had suites where there were baths and showers and from the sounds of it bidets as big as my shower base. So if the toilet facilities are important make sure of where you are allocated before accepting a room.

Room Tip: check what the en suite facilities are like in the room allocated Shower with the door open if in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at The Longmynd, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review of The Longmynd. I have shared your feedback with our operations team. We currently have no plans to alter the en-suite, but appreciate they are small yet functional. As for the heating this is being looked in to.
Sarah Davis, HF Holidays Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here at the w/e with 37 others. The hotel is very nice and well maintained, staff are very pleasent, rooms were clean and tidy but it had the smallest shower I have ever seen and just not even practical. A triangular shower 1ft x 1ft x 1ft I kid you not.

On the Friday we were 1 of 2 groups staying and lots of drinks were purchased at the bar, and a number of drinks were sold out ie Guinness/Bitter/Bottled lager. On the Sat night we had a black tie xmas dinner and none of the drinks had been restocked so options were lager or cider - poor planning by the management. This was compounded with the hotel bar closing at middnight without any prior warning bringing quite an abrupt end to a fun night.

Everyone in the hotel seemed to be complaining about the heating being on all the time, and most people had to sleep, eat and drink with all the windows open 24 hrs...

All in all, a nice hotel let down by simple things

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mintmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This monolith of a hotel sits high up above Church Stretton so you can't miss it which was our reason for going...driven past so many times so we thought we would give it a try!!

When we went it was very quiet - there was a function on that night in the dining room but only three rooms in the hotel were occupied. As we didn't book but just walked in, we were given what we thought was a really great deal - sadly though, the room we were initially given at this great rate was small, just above the kitchen and next to the extractor fan. This, bearing in mind the hotel was almost completely empty, was not a good start!! But when we couldn't deal with the food smells and the noise any more (about 15 minutes!!) we went downstairs to see if there was any other room we could have. The Duty Manager was brilliant and we were immediately upgraded to a suite and the difference was really noticeable. The suite we were given had a separate sitting room with Lazy Boy and leather sofa (great for a lazy night in in front of the tele); the bedroom has a sort of 'mock' four poster which takes up most of the space but is easily liveable with for one night (although be warned - anyone over 5'10" might have a problem as the bed seemed really short!!). The bathroom was big and bright and clean with both shower and bath. So all together great for the price we paid.

The breakfast was FANTASTIC and included in the price of our room (the menu said they charged £15 for a full cooked breakfast and it was worth every penny). And for a refreshing change, they even offered a full cooked breakfast for vegetarians - so often you have to ask whether the chef can make something up minus all meat products!!!

The only major down side to the Long Mynd Hotel is that it isn't quiet. We had staff dragging furniture across the wooden floors in the dining room until almost 11.30 at night after the function and then the kitchen staff chucking bottles in the recycling bins about 7.00 in the morning!! And you could clearly hear the other guests moving around the hotel during the evening.

What made the difference was the staff...the people that we dealt with were smiley and helpful and made our stay (we didn't even have to pay for the two bottles of water that we had bought in the evening to have in our room).

Overall, the hotel is very dated and in need of a total revamp so don't stay if you want luxury. But as a quick stopover, it is great....and the views out over Long Mynd from the restaurant were fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for something on the second, third or fourth floor and away from the kitchen!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We enjoyed a family lunch on Sunday for 11 adults in the restaurant. Service was excellent from the booking right through to our departure, all the staff were polite and courteous.
The meal was tasty, well presented and well priced . After lunch we retired to the bar/lounge for coffee and sat very comfortably chatting, enjoy our time together in such peaceful and relaxing surroundings. Thank you very much and we look forward to our next visit.

The refurbishment of the hotel has been tastefully carried out and is a much more welcoming venue than in the past.

Room Tip: We only visited for lunch as we are all local to the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We booked for 8 nights. We hoped to repeat a lovely holiday taken there under previous management. They are not now interested in individual guests. We did not realize that not being part of a group meant we had to eat in a separate dining room with minimal service. Meals constantly disturbed by walkers going past our table to their own dining room, where there were several members of staff in attendance. On the 3rd morning I had to walk out to reception to ask if someone could serve us. We were brought a pot of tea, but I had to ask for cups and milk! It would have been difficult for them to show less care or interest. Reception staff were apologetic, but all priorities were for those who wore jeans and hiking boots and had booked as part of an organised party through HF Holidays, who, it seems, now run the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adele-Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at The Longmynd, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the review regarding your stay with us in September. We always appreciate receiving feedback, so that we can monitor the service we provide. I was extremely disappointed to hear of your recent stay not meeting your previous expectations.

The hotel is now operated by HF Holidays, however all our guests are important to us whether they are on an HF Holidays guest or an individual guest. Over the past few months we have been working hard to continue to improve our service, yet still making it available at a reliable price to all of our customers. On this occasion we do not seem to have met your expectations for which I can only apologise.

Sarah Davis, Research & Development Manager, HF Holidays Ltd.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed for three nights as part of a group. Tired is not the word for the place - unimproved, dated and just plain worn out are more apt - what little Victorian charm the building once had seems to have been painted over in the 1960s and left ever since. I stayed once before and the place was faded then, plus the lack of service and rudeness from the supposed owners' family and their "manageress" was simply Joyless - I thought that the departure of the "family" would open the place up to at least the comforts of the 1970s, but apart from some lovely members of staff (all young and Eastern European) the older staff seem to continue to treat guests as an unwelcome distraction. Apparently the staff conditions are worse - one of the floor staff told me that they were subjected to 3am room inspections and rationed access to bathrooms. It is a shame, however this place seems to combine the worst from the 1950s along with a Ryanair attitude to guests, despite the monarcal "family" being disposed of. Amazing - I said to my partner that "I am only coming back here because it couldn't be worse than last time". Well, it was and unless you are so old or impaired that you have no connection with your senses (a lot of guests do fall into this group) stay away - dated is fine, but here you are made to feel so unwelcome that I am amazed that anyone stays beyond the lock-in of their pre paid Daily Mirror voucher. AVOID AVOID AVOID. Get your money back through your credit card co - the brochure says "hotel", this is "stalag" !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
8.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
816 reviews
15.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
12.2 mi away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
476 reviews
24.5 mi away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Lion Hotel Shrewsbury by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longmynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longmynd

Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price Range: $134 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longmynd 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Otel and Booking.com so you can book your The Longmynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton
Hotel Longmynd
The Longmynd Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing