We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentines Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Longmynd

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Longmynd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Church Stretton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Valentines Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was asked to a Valentines dinner with a friend. I went on the website to get a menu & other information re the Valentines dinner but could only find Christmas & New Year!!!
I then phoned to find out arrival time, sit down for dinner time & menu. But didn't have much luck as no-one could supply me with info except sit-down-for dinner time then eventually they rang me back with menu details. Please Longmynd Hotel keep your website up to date so menus etc can be viewed! Especailly for special occassions/events Thanks very much.

Room Tip: We were not staying the night. Just dinner on 14th Feb 2013.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah D, HF Holidays Ltd at The Longmynd, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your experience when enquiring about our Romantic Gourmet Dinner.

Your feedback has been passed on to our website team to help improve the information we provide about our events. We hope that we can welcome you both back to The Longmynd Hotel again soon.

Sarah Davis, Research & Quality Manager - HF Holidays Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    95
    51
    20
    20
See reviews for
26
77
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good beer, good food. Great location. For a walking holiday it is ideal and there a several routes nearby. Weather was surprisingly nice for March. Staff were helpful with anything you needed. Was again surprisingly busy.

Stayed as a group of 15+. Nice rooms. Hotel is a bit dated. Staff and service good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed with a group of friends on a walking holiday and had a most enjoyable time. Good food, good service, warm comfortable rooms,good drying room, good location - and no rain!
No complaints at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxiYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yatton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room reasonable, although bathroom was small and had insufficient space to place toiletries. Evening meal was disappointing, with a very limited choice of options for each course, despite the fact that guests were required to pre-order. Salmon appeared as both a starter and main dish on the same night, and beef was the meat choice on successive nights. The vegetable portions were rather small. The decor was jaded in places, and the sound-proofing between the rooms wasn't great. On a positive note, the staff were pleasant, the hotel was clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustineG_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went to The Longmynd Hotel with high hopes for an excellent meal & good service.We could not have been more disapointed it was awful. We had booked for our works christmas party(DEC) the food was inedible, the service was unorganised & slow meaning meals were cold, veg rock hard VERY poor when charging £35.00 per head we would not recommend The Longmynd Hotel to anyone and we are local people.The bar even though showing a Guiness pump was serving from a can whilst charging pump prices ( weights & measures? ) when we questioned this, we were told it tastes the same (being ex puplicans i dont think so ) The party after was fun with good live music but steer clear of eating here & join the live music later as many of our friends had done.....

Room Tip: n/a didnnot stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bazmeisterShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Church Stretton hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
worcester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in the longmynd for a xmas party night. Fantastic location, our room was fine, i would recommend the 3rd floor for best rooms and views over the valley. Our friends room on the first floor was tired to say the least. The hotel is warm, clean and tidy, it could probably do with an update in places . Staff were very friendly and the food was good. If you can get rooms for a good price its an ideal spot for exploring the Strettons.

Room Tip: Go for the 3rd floor for views and not too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank droitwichWorcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to the Long Mynd hotel in Church Stretton in Nov. I absolutely loved this place its tucked away in a hillside with fantastic views. Great comfy beds and a decent size bathroom it was warm as it was freezing cold outside when we arrived. We walked round the grounds to see the sculptures which are brilliant. It is a great location with loads of walks near by. The breakfast was a buffet breakfast and there was plenty to choose from with just about everything you would like for a hearty breakfast. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
15.7 mi away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
8.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
11.3 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 mi away
The Feathers at Ludlow
14.0 mi away
Overton Grange Hotel
Overton Grange Hotel
#7 of 8 in Ludlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
12.8 mi away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Longmynd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Longmynd

Property: The Longmynd
Address: Cunnery Road, Church Stretton SY6 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Longmynd 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Longmynd dates from the early 1900s and originally attracted Edwardian visitors to the 'Little Switzerland' of Church Stretton. With a magnificent hill-top location, there are panoramic views of the surrounding hills from the dining room and our lounges. Today the Longmynd has been extensively modernised to suit the needs of visitors. We offer spacious bedrooms, fabulous food and spacious lounges to relax in. Our extensive gardens and woodland walk are both relaxing places to explore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Longmynd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longmynd Hotel Church Stretton
Hotel Longmynd
The Longmynd Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing