We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better second time round”
other travelers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
201 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 201 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mark o
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Even better second time round”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

With the new hot tub and other added extras our stay our second stay was more memorable than the first. The tub really was an unexpected bonus. Recommended! Hosts very friendly and helpful.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffanyB1...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“One of our favourite places in the world”
Reviewed April 3, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We returned to the Larches for the third time and the place just gets better and better. There is now a lovely wood burner which makes the evenings cosy and romantic. Sara & Mark are wonderful hosts and always take great care of us. We love that we can be walking in snow top hills one day or browsing the shops in Church Stretton and having tapas the next. Everything is in walking distance. We will be back there as soon as we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The new wood burning stove
Liked least: Having to leave!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed March 22, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The Larches is a great place to stay. The location is great for local walks and cycling in the Shropshire hills and you can stroll into Church Stretton for a nice meal or drinks in just 10 minutes. Very comfortable accommodation with some nice individual touches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Alpine Retreat!”
Reviewed March 19, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our short stay in this cosy log cabin. The cabin is located in the big garden of a nice house just a short walk from the centre of Church Stretton. However once inside it feels like you are staying in the Alps! It is also completely private from the main house. The cabin is perfect for a relaxing break and the log burner makes it very cosy. All the facilities are modern and in great condition and is looked after very well. I would definitely recommed a stay here if coming to Church Stretton or Long Mynd area and we will certainly be coming back.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemmacook...
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay in The Larches”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

When we arrived we were shown to the cabin where we stayed for 4 days, there were two bottles of prosecco waiting on arrival. We quickly settled down for our stay and started our log fire, around the second day we asked where we were able to buy more firewood as we used quite alot during the first night and Mark brought three bags around within 5-10 minutes. The nearest supermarket is around a 10 minute walk away from the cabin, the walk was relaxing. The supermarket is also surrounded by pubs, restraunts and local shops. Shrewsbury was only a 15 min drive away snd there was lots of entertainment. The cabin was fully equipped with everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
Binfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect break - an absolute gem”
Reviewed February 18, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Larches is an absolute gem, so cosy - just perfect for the two of us and a much needed break. The addition of the log burner made it very special so we could chill out watching movies with the fire (the BT box meant we could log directly on to Netflix). Church Stretton itself also has all the amenities you could wish for - we travelled by train to nearby Ludlow and Shrewsbury and frequented a number of the local pubs and restaurants (only about a 10 minute stroll). Sara and Mark's hospitality was second to none - making us feel so very welcome and on hand for anything we needed, including a top up of logs for the fire! The only downside were the strong winds brought in by Storm Henry but in some ways that made staying in a log cabin all the more cosy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Chilling by the fire
Liked least: Strong winds - storm Henry
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinredl...
1 review
“Chilled out”
Reviewed December 17, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Lovely cosy lodge with a very efficient log burner. Great place for peace and quiet within easy reach of walks, pubs and restaurants. We enjoyed the antique shops and the complementary bottle of fizz. Thank you we had a great time

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing