We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful place to stay!”
other travelers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
200 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 200 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma W
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed May 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My boyfriend and I have just got back from a 3 night stay at The Larches Norwegian Chalet and had a lovely time. The weather was great but that didn't matter because the cabin is so cosy you can keep warm and watch a film. There is plenty to do around Church Stretton and the surrounding area, as everything is about 30 minutes away by car. The owners are great and made us feel very welcome. We will definitely be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan M
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Larches ”
Reviewed May 3, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Although the cabin is at the end of Sara and Mark's beautiful garden, it is very private.

Log cabin cosy and nice. Facilities all great. Surrounded outside areas picturesque. 

There is vast amount of all the local information on day trips out and restaurant recommendations, great food, excellent service, no complaints. There is a local co-op big enough to cater for all needed for an evening in.

Great sight seeing and walks.
Hawkstone Park follies was awesome, as was Carding Mill Valley.

Church Stretton definitely has the WOW factor.  Definitely recommend the Larches and Church Stretton as a place to visit.

Sara and Mark, great hostess' and made our break a wonderful memorable experience.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
subaru3
Salisbury, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish I was still there....”
Reviewed March 20, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

As others have said - excellent accommodation, very considerate and friendly owners, and superb location for walking holiday. I would very happily stay here again.

Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicia S
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exactly what you want!”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Larches! Not only is the cabin absolutely delightful, Sara, the owner is one of the most helpful and thoughtful proprietors I have come across. Sara really goes above and beyond to ensure you enjoy your stay and this was evidenced through email correspondence before I even arrived. As a solo traveller, I immediately felt comfortable and valued as a guest and Sara even took the trouble to write directions for a specific walk for me to venture on as I was worried about getting lost! This really does illustrate the exceptionally high level of customer service. The cabin is spotlessly clean and feels very private and secluded. I absolutely loved my stay and fully intend to return. Very reasonably priced, beautiful surroundings, wonderful owner and luxurious cabin - what more could you want?!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey D
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Getaway”
Reviewed February 21, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We booked for a 3 night break over the Valentines weekend, It was a much needed break before my husband started chemo. We had email conversations with Sara before we arrived and detailed directions and links for places to eat and what to do.

Sara was really friendly and welcoming and showed us where everything was and how things worked. The cabin is in a lovely setting with fantastic views and sooooooo quiet with just the sound of birds singing. It’s secluded and feels like you are in the middle of nowhere which is wonderful.

The kitchen is well stocked with utensils etc, and the oven works brilliantly as does the hob, nice large fridge too. The sofa is a very comfy swallow you up type of sofa. The bed was massive and really restful.

It’s close enough to town to walk (although we didn’t due to my husband’s health). There is a co-op locally and an antiques market and individual shops, cafes/restaurants.

Church Stretton is a lovely place to visit and The Larches is an excellent place to stay to explore the area. We will definitely be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet and the views.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dancingdu...
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chalet and Service”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I cannot recommend this chalet more and the excellent customer service from Sara and Mark.

Quality accommodation, surroundings and owners.

The other positive reviews I wholeheartedly agree with.

A fantastic, quiet break. Thank you both so much !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality accomodation and service
Liked least: Having to leave !
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate W
2 reviews
“Very welcoming with great views”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cabin is in a great location, easy walking distance from the centre of Church Stretton so even though the weather was cold when we stayed it was near enough that we still walked into town for dinner...and lunch...and breakfast - there are too many nice places to eat!

Sara was really welcoming and took the time to make sure we had everything we needed when we arrived (and before by email too). The cabin was lovely with everything we needed as well as some great views. We'll definitely visit again as the accommodation was just right and it's always nice when the owners genuinely want to make sure their guests have a lovely holiday.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing