We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very welcoming with great views”
other travelers have booked this property
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
210 reviews
Path runs from the parking area to the chalet with lighting
New sail shades ensure privacy and provide some weather protection
Superking (6ft wide) bed and shower room beyond
Bedroom area feels separate from rest of the lodge
Kitchen units, large sink and Smeg fridge
Oak table and comfortable leather sofa in the lounge area
The Hobbit stove in gorgeous gun metal finish gives real ambience (free logs and kindling)
Hot tub with colour changing LED lights, waterfall and jets
Outdoor bbq and Indian firepit with views to the town
Entrance and deck area is completely private from the main house
The town and hills are enchanting when the clouds descend
Burway Hill beyond the town from outside the lodge
Enjoying the fireworks over town from the firepit area
Floor plan
The sun setting beautifully to silhouette Burway Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 210 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kate W
2 reviews
“Very welcoming with great views”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The cabin is in a great location, easy walking distance from the centre of Church Stretton so even though the weather was cold when we stayed it was near enough that we still walked into town for dinner...and lunch...and breakfast - there are too many nice places to eat!

Sara was really welcoming and took the time to make sure we had everything we needed when we arrived (and before by email too). The cabin was lovely with everything we needed as well as some great views. We'll definitely visit again as the accommodation was just right and it's always nice when the owners genuinely want to make sure their guests have a lovely holiday.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther023...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
Reviewed January 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The host took time to email us places to sightsee before our visit. When we arrived not only was Sara lovely but she had bought us a bottle of prosecco and left milk in the fridge so we could warm up as soon as we got in. Most hotels or holiday accommodations always have the appearance of cleanliness but only to find that the level of cleanliness is appalling, however The Larches was spotless. The scenery is amazing, the cabin perfect.....warm(I am always cold ), good quality furnishings and the bed is to die for(soooo comfortable and firm).

We loved it so much and stayed an extra night

I would definitely recommend this to anyone who loves perfection.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negin A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feels really private, clean and lovely cottage”
Reviewed November 27, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Really beautiful little cottage, actually feels really private when in the cottage, very clean and homely, comfortable bed and sofa, overall had a great stay!

Also they are a really lovely and friendly family!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia...
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant ! Totally fulfilled our expectations and more.....”
Reviewed October 15, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A wonderful lodge with all the creature comforts, and an extra welcome treat!
Sara and Mark are marvellous hosts, the children are delightful, (should you catch sight of them) and have ensured everything is to hand that you might need to enjoy your stay .
The Larches is well placed for walking holidays, or just visiting that area, and we found Church Stretton to be a delightful little town.....and the surrounding countryside and beyond is.definitely somewhere we'd want to go back to.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littletri...
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Lovely little lodge in an excellent location for walking/cycling.”
Reviewed September 25, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The lodge was fully equipped with everything we needed for our stay. We stayed for 7 nights and cooked at the lodge 5 of the nights. There are however, several options for takeaways and pubs a 5 minute walk away. The location was perfect for us for a walking and cycling holiday. Highly recommend the Shuttle bus which goes from Church Stretton and does a circular tour round the Long Mynd and other extremely scenic areas, allowing you to jump on and off when desired.

Sara could not have been any more hospitable and was extremely helpful from the second we booked the lodge.

We had a lovely week here and would definitely consider coming back again one summer in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The privacy of it being one lone lodge with its own access and outside areas. Also, a great bed!
Liked least: This wasn't a problem for us but the lodge is at the top of a very steep drive way which some people may not be able to walk up/down.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaznHaze
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You've got to stay here”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Simply brilliant, from the warm welcome to the extremely well equipped larches cabin, to the wonderful surrounding countryside, everything you need for a relaxing break or holiday. Walks from the door in the beautiful Shropshire hills, or a short train journey to Shrewsbury or Ludlow, this really is a place to try. All we could have asked for in the way of luxury accomadation, and a wonderful host to go with it! A real home from home, and look forward to coming back for another visit...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mag360
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a long weekend”
Reviewed September 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked a last minute special offer at The Larches. The cabin is spotlessly clean, very well equipped and great value for money. It's an ideal location from which to explore the beautiful Shropshire Hills. Our car sat on the drive for the whole weekend as the walks to the Long Mynd are easily accessible by foot and both Ludlow and Shrewsbury can be reached by train. There is a varied selection of pubs, restaurants and tea rooms in Church Stretton. If you are a real ale lover try The Kings Head and we can recommend the 'Grazing Menu' at Housmans. As some of the other reviews have pointed out the cabin is close to the owner's house but we didn't find this a problem. Sara was a great host and we enjoyed talking to her three lovely children. We made a couple of suggestions for minor improvements and these had been put in place before we reached home which just goes to show how keen the owners are to ensure that their guests have the best possible experience at The Larches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing