We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bucks Head

The Bucks Head
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bucks Head
Ranked #13 of 23 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
475 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Decent lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Four of us went for lunch here. The staff were efficient, friendly and helpful. We had a few modifications to the food to suit dietary requirements and these were met without problem.

The food was pleasant. I would describe it as good quality pub food.

Overall a very satisfactory visit and good value.

Worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    19
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
16
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great B & B accomodation and a fantastic breakfast in the morning, both traditional full english and vegetarian. Really friendly staff and ideal for a stop over for a group of us on our way to Chester.

Room Tip: We had a double, twin and the single and all were at a very high standard. If staying in the double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Bucks Head. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff are really friendly and attentive. The cooked breakfast sets you well up for the day. Great location right in the middle of Church Stretton which is a lovely little Shropshire town. Hope to return someday and I would strongly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lechar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Dropped in for a light lunch. The food was very nice - very fresh and piping hot. The dining room was very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
One very minor comment. In the window of the hotel/restaurant is a notice advertising the tariff for the hotel's accommodation. Unfortunately the sign is spelt "accomadation". It has been like this for over a year now. It says a lot for the hotel's successful fight against inflation but not a lot for its grasp of the finer points of English spelling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abrumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Used this as our main feeding place for the duration of our holiday as we found the service to be excellent and the food good value for money. The desserts were just out of this world, especially the roulades, which were made by a staff member. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowyman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

As I live in Church Stretton I'm very familiar with this pub - although I have never stayed in the rooms. Lloyd and his team always make us feel very welcome and the style of service, whilst not 'over the top' in that annoying way, is always very friendly. The food is good value and my husband is always happy with his pint. Children are welcome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveningStar587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrhyndeudraeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very friendly staff and owner, all rooms finished to a high standard. Food was very good and in good time you will not be hungry when you leave the table. First class

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwilphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
4.5 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#17 of 23 in Church Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bucks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bucks Head

Property: The Bucks Head
Address: 42 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bucks Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Bucks Head Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing