We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & efficient staff”
Review of The Bucks Head

The Bucks Head
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bucks Head
Ranked #11 of 21 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Used this as our main feeding place for the duration of our holiday as we found the service to be excellent and the food good value for money. The desserts were just out of this world, especially the roulades, which were made by a staff member. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willowyman46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 65 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2012

As I live in Church Stretton I'm very familiar with this pub - although I have never stayed in the rooms. Lloyd and his team always make us feel very welcome and the style of service, whilst not 'over the top' in that annoying way, is always very friendly. The food is good value and my husband is always happy with his pint. Children are welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EveningStar587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very friendly staff and owner, all rooms finished to a high standard. Food was very good and in good time you will not be hungry when you leave the table. First class

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwilphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

So often the simple formula for a Sunday pub lunch gets messed up. Poor food, slow service, overpriced drinks and then taking two hours to present the bill. None of that here. Prompt service, including delivering around 20 plates of food within 5 minutes is no mean feat. But they did the little touches well - providing a small jug of veggie gravy to the one vegetarian amongst us, reheating a meal when one of our party left the table to feed her baby, crayons and colouring pads for the kids. The food was good (altough not outstanding) and ticked all the boxes with very generous portions and plenty of freshly cooked veg. Desserts were lovely too but we ate quite late so a couple of them had run out when we came to order. Overall a really relaxing unpretentious pub dining experience and we were made to feel at home by all the staff there. Recommended for a family lunch outing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueted_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a Christmas dinner here for around 30 people and all went well.
The setting was good. The food was well presented. The service was fine.
The most remarkable thing in fact was how unremarkable the whole experience was.
Yes, the food was ok. Yes, the waiters and waitresses performed their duties well enough. Yes, the room was ok.
For me, there was nothing to set it apart from so many other small town pub/inn establishments.
I'd be quite happy to recommend Bucks Head to others but would say don't expect "memorable" and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank youkillemwechillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

we have just been to the Bucks for a drink before heading off else where for a meal, depite thjem having two dining areas, nearly every table has a reserved sign on, we were made to feel very unwellcome, in fact , despite there being very few people in the pub we were told on on three occasions, in less than an hour they might need our seats if someone came in for food.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank tom t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This gem of a pub/hotel has changed my mind about the dire accomodation the U.K is reputed for. Situated in the heart of the picturesque village of Church Stretton blessed with plenty of easy parking, the 'Buck's Head' offers spacious rooms appointed to a very high standard. The staff are welcoming and genuinly friendly and although we didn't dine there that night, the breakfast the following morning was one of the best 'full English' blow-outs I have had in a long time. A number of real ales were available in the bar which only added to pleasure of staying somewhere 'really nice' for once. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer which at £42 per night would hardly break the bank. All in all the 'Buck's Head' is excellent value for money and well deserving of its 4star AA rating. And No, I am not related to the management.

Room Tip: I stayed in room number 3 somewhat away from the church bells which toll the hour but do not disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dreamtraveller23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Church Stretton hotels
0 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 21 in Church Stretton
220 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 21 in Church Stretton
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#19 of 21 in Church Stretton
119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brookfields Guesthouse
Brookfields Guesthouse
#5 of 21 in Church Stretton
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bucks Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bucks Head

Address: 42 High Street, Church Stretton SY6 6BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bucks Head 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Bucks Head Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing