We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star stay for the second time!”
other travelers have booked this property
Master bedroom - superking bed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area View of farm and fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Master bedroom - superking bed
New pavilion and sanctuary area
View of farm and fields
The Barn open plan sitting and dining area
The master bedroom and ensuite
The Barn hallway
The Barn kitchen
Barn Double Bedroom
British Lop pigs on site
Soay sheep on site
Fishing lake available to all guests
Wild ponies on the Long Mynd
Outbuildings around the farm
Visit Ironbridge
Visit Bridgnorth
Cycling from the cottages
Sam and Chris to welcome you
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Church Stretton, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrs J
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“5 star stay for the second time!”
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Love, love, love Middle Farm - it's so peaceful and relaxing. We've just come back from a week in Gooseyard Cottage having previously stayed in Daisy's Place in Oct 2017. Accommodation is second to none; clean, comfortable, cosy, all mod cons - they really are a home from home.

Stunning location. If you want to escape, then this is the place for you. Beautiful location and so quiet. Lovely to see the animals up close and personal too and Sam, Chris, Maddie and Conor are delightful hosts and nothing is too much trouble.

Do try the pork, you won't be disappointed. I refuse to buy sausages and bacon from supermarkets having tried Sam's rare breed pork and you'll never find fresher, more yellow eggs!

We tried our hands at fishing too. Great little lake well stocked with fish. More than happy to pay the minimal charge of £6 for 2 rods for a lovely, stocked lake in a beautiful location.

The Bottle and Glass pub just a half mile stroll away is a cracking pub with does lovely homemade food, worth booking in advance for Friday and Saturday night and Sunday lunch.

We love this place so much we've hired all 3 cottages for Christmas! Can't rate it highly enough!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 13, 2018
Oh my goodness, such lovely words. Thank you soooo much for all your support both for the cottages and the pork. It's been an absolutely pleasure getting to know you when you're here and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks again. Sam, Chris, Maddie and Connor X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen R
1 review
“An amazing place”
Reviewed April 25, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We have travelled from Australia and selected to stay in the Barn on Middle Farm.
A very friendly welcome form the amazing landlords on our arrival , the accommodation was well above our expectations, the Barn was lovely and warm, extremely comfortable though out our whole stay, as the weather was a bit chiller than what we are use to. We found the barn to be well maintained and suitable equiped to cover all our holiday needs.
Being able to interact with the animals and watch Sam and Chris in their daily chores was a a great experience, and being able to sample the home grown lop pork was a real treat..
We will defiantly be recommending Middle Farm and look forward to being able to visit again on our next trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2018
So lovely to welcome you both and thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope very much that you managed to acclimatise during the rest of your stay in the UK. Wishing you all the best and a safe journey home. Thank you again. Sam and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul S
1 review
“Not so perfect”
Reviewed April 17, 2018 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed in the Barn accommodation whilst working in the area, the accommodation was both pleasant and spacious with beautiful surroundings.
It was when we were nearing the end of our stay that we returned home from work and went to get clean up for the evening, I showered in the ground floor en-suite whilst my colleague took a bath upstair, it was when my colleague turned the cold water on to rinse the bath up stairs that the water in the shower below became scalding causing me to jump and slip which in turn led me to hitting my face on the tiled corner leaving me with a swollen lip and a broken tooth.
I checked in the welcome brochure and around the accommodation to see if there were any warnings of water temperature changes but there was none.
I reported the incident to the landlady who seemed very sympathetic, on my return home the landlady gave me the detail of the insurance company who informed me that they would not be commenting on the claim until the April 2017.
When the insurance company did come back to me they informed me that the boiler does not produce scalding water and the change in temperature does not fluctuate and there was no claim to answer.
After weeks of painful surgery and a cost of £1200.00 for dentistry repairs I can only surmise that insurance companies are now professional plumbers.
I can only imagine what would happen if in the same circumstances with a child in the shower the thought is frightening.
For this reason and this reason alone the score reflects my stay, I would be very careful if you are staying in the barn accommodation with children.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2018
Thank you for your review. We always welcome feedback both positive and the not so positive so that we can put any problems right. We also carry out rigorous risk assessments at the farm on an annual basis and part of that includes a comprehensive boiler service. Immediately after your accident the boiler and shower were checked by a professional plumber and no fault was found. Temperatures are set at 65 degrees which is the standard. While we are, of course, very sorry for your experience of loosing a tooth, Middle Farm has not been found to be negligent in any way. We wish you all the best for the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim N
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I agree with all the other excellent reviews! Great cottage, lovely host, hard to beat!”
Reviewed February 22, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Lovely old barn in very pleasant rural farm setting - our little daughter loved seeing the piglets and horses, and the countryside is great for walking. Not far from Church Stretton and Shrewsbury - both well worth a visit. A bit further away the RAF and Iron Bridge museums are pretty special too, and there's plenty more to explore.

The cottage is quiet, beautiful inside, and very comfortable, and Sam is always helpful and charming.

We very much enjoyed our stay, and Shropshire offers friendly people, a slower pace, and plenty to see and do. Strongly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2018
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really appreciate all the feedback. Thank you for being such wonderful guests, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay on the farm. All the best Sam and Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor C
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed September 11, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Sam was very welcoming and Gooseyard cottage was well presented and had more than enough crockeryband utensils for two people. Cottage was clean and warm. Plenty of parking and easyvtravelling distance to many attractions and towns. Approach roads can be interesting. Wi fi inside the cottage was non existence but is available on site, mobile signal hard tonfind but it is great to be off grid for a week.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2017
Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. We are always thrilled to hear and appreciate the feedback. It was lovely to meet you both and hope you had a good journey home. All the best. Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielCla...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant Stay!!! ”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at Middle Farm Cottages in the Daisy's Place cottage for a getaway break after our wedding. It was wonderful! The location is perfect, Sam the host was very friendly and welcoming. As we arrived a sow had just given birth to 12 piglets which Sam show us the next day. The cottage was immaculate and had everything inside for a pleasant stay. I asked for a bottle of champagne upon arrival which Sam supplied and pre-cooled in the fridge. I would recommend staying here to anyone. There were a lot of little touches such as homemade rock cakes, milk, tea/coffee and locally made soap which were very pleasant. Overall a very professional, clean and friendly place to stay. Thank you Sam!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 4, 2017
Thank you both very much indeed for posting on Trip Advisor! It was wonderful to meet you both and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Many congratulations again on getting married. Wishing you both all the best :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deakin2
Nottingham England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and surroundings”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed in Goose Yard Cottage for four nights, lovely warm welcome from Sam. The cottage is very well appointed with a superbly well equipped kitchen. Total peace and quiet ( very little internet signal). The farm has some rare breed sheep and super cute pigglets. Excellent walking from the farm gate no need for a car. We ate in the local pub Bottle and Glass super food and dog friendly too.
Thanks Sam we will be back in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Thank you so much for writing. What a pleasure it was to meet you both and so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We will, of course, be delighted to welcome you back and will try and plan piglets in time! Thank you again. Sam X
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing