We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlands Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stay in lots of B&B's and this is one of the best. Why?
- great value for money
- friendly and helpful hosts
- very spacious room with comfy armchairs and balcony
- mini fridge with fresh milk
- amazing views
- pristinely clean
Well done Lynn and Alan!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thejeffs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bovingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and two year old son and I had the pleasure of staying with Lynn and Alan for 3 days at their b&b. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like very special guests from being greeted by Lynn and Alan as we pulled into the drive, helping us with the bags and they really made our son feel like he was at home. The building itself is in excellent order and extremely well kept, and the room we stayed in (I forget the name but it lead into another room) was immaculate and inviting! Breakfast on both days was great, we had a full English on day one and a less guilty breakfast on day two and both were really good, despite the weather we had an opportunity to see some incredible views around the Church Stretton area, they were so impressive it kept my two year old very occupied. I am normally very critical of hotels and b&b's when we go away but we quite literally could not fault this place and we are already planning to go back again in the summer, thank you

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Funleg73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

We've now had the pleasure of staying in all of the rooms Alan and Lynn
have to offer, and there isn't a bad one amongst them. The Magnolia Room
is great on a bright, wintry day, when you can sit, toasty warm, in the
comfy armchairs and look out of the bay window at the breath-taking views.
The Balcony Room is perfect when the weather permits you to sit out on
said balcony and admire the views and fresh air, and finally, the Primrose
Room has a cosy, secluded feel to it, and allows direct access to the
garden and patio area through French windows. The attention to detail
that has gone into everything is excellent. I especially appreciate the
mini fridge with fresh milk in each room. Nothing worse than UHT milk in
your tea or coffee! The food and welcome were, as always, second to none.
Thank you Alan and Lynn (don't know why he always gets top billing)
-----------------

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

The ultimate relaxing short break in perfect surroundings - the house itself with breathtaking views and wildlife to watch, the hills on the doorstep to walk in and enjoy the fresh air and truly welcoming hosts - this is a really refreshing venue. I enjoyed the comfort and peace of the Balcony room, super clean and more like a suite, lots of space. The breakfast is cooked to order and I was very impressed with the quality. Really helpful local advice which makes all the difference when on a short break - this is the best value for money I've experienced in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank venusyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I'd heard about camping pods and the Long Mynd. Being December though I decided to look for hotels and B&Bs. The former were booked up and Highlands rated as as good place to stay. I read other reviews on Trip Advisor that said things like good value and relaxing stay.

The reviews I read were right - Lynn and Alan have a great place. Highlands has has been finished to a high standard making it one of the best B&B I've come across.

The breakfasts are good - cooked to order and at the time we asked for. What more could one ask for. No cheap sausage to be found here.

Lynn and Alan are well clued up on the area and can advise on where you want to go and what you need to do for your time by the Long Mynd taking the guess work out of our stay.

This part of Shropshire is truly special and staying at Highlands is too.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good. The top floor has the highest vantage point with views of Long Mynd
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

This was a second visit to Highlands, once again a group for four for a walking weekend. This time we had Primrose and Magnolia rooms and again we found them well-decorated, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The availability of the mini fridgest is a big boon alongside the fact that all the rooms can be twin bedded - great for groups of friends travelling together. We had a good cooked breakfast and there was cereal, yogurt and fruit to start with. Lynn and Alan very helpfully chilled a bottle of sparkling wine for us.
Highlands is on the edge of Church Stretton so the walk down for dinner is a bit of exercise - the plus side is the lovely views of the Long Mynd especially from the Balcony and Magnolia rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Alan and Lynn's beautiful home was once again the perfect place to chill out and relax. A beautifully decorated house where the guest is made to feel special and pampered. Great value for money. Great food. Great views from the bedrooms. Great chats over tea and biscuits. We'll continue staying at Highlands for many years to come.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#3 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#1 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
4.4 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#17 of 23 in Church Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing