We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Recently had a lovely 2 nights stay at Highlands B+B. Alan and Lynn made us feel at home whilst staying at their beautiful house. The accommodation is very spacious and clean, with a fantastic bed, a great en-suite and wonderful views. We had a lovely breakfast whilst watching the birds feeding outside, a great start to the day. Sadly, 2 nights in the area is not enough, and we will definitely be returning......sorry Alan.
P.S. A tip for eating out, The Green Dragon at Little Stretton. Great food, but recommend booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
127
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Very welcoming B&B Superb Breakfast just the thing for participants in the Church Stretton Walking Festival. Glorious views from our Balcony. The accommodation was a delight, lovely and clean. We had a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Excellent accommodation and very welcoming hosts. A comfortable , spacious room with wonderful views across the valley. Breakfast was served meeting all our different requests. Car parking was good and the patios and garden were superb. All-in-all a lovely experience we hope to enjoy again with helpful and knowledgeable hosts.

Room Tip: Middle level has best views but lower level has a patio seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a four night stay at the beginning of June. We had the Primrose Room which was lovely, clean and large. We were greeted warmly and helped with our luggage. A really lovely B & B but two things need to be noted - firstly, Alan made a number of remarks which as a proprietor who was a stranger to us went well over the line. The first related to where the remote was placed beside our bed. He then made a remark of a sexual nature about it. The next day on our return after sightseeing Alan blocked the stairway instead of allowing us to go to our room despite being told by his wife to get out of the way. A couple of other remarks were made during our stay which were intrusive and not welcome. Alan needs to check himself in those areas. The second thing relates to noise coming from above our room. When occupied by other guests we could hear every footstep they made, every toilet flush and their muffled speech. The guests were just moving around normally and talking but to hear everything in our room seemed to be an invasion of their privacy and sound proofing needs to be attended to if it can be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan H, Owner at Highlands Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
I rarely respond to reviews through the public medium of T/A preferring to let other reviews “do the talking”. However in this instance there is misleading content of a personal nature.
No other reviews have been as negative as this one & fortunately most readers can see through the odd out of kilter opinion.
I adopt the same patter to all guests allocated the Primrose room though light and airy because it is a basement room (with terrace and garden seating area) I flippantly refer to it as The Dungeon & will often comment that the “equipment” is no longer available. If I happened to say that at the same time as reminding guests it is a good to remember to have the Sky remote to hand when going to bed while watching T. V. Then I apologise for any link that may have been made. Even though I find it a strange leap of imagination to have made any connection.
“Blocking The Stairs” I was probably setting a timer for a towel rail, of course the wife would tell me to get out of the way!
Noise from the room above- Insulation is in place. A 50 year old property that was designed for families, is bound to have noise transmittance. We normally hint to occupants of either room that “noise travels” Cheeky34 your acute sensibilities are obviously more in tune with more modern impersonal accommodation & buildings designed just to make money.
Thank you for your feedback, once again I apologise if I offended your sensibilities (real or imagined)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wonderful family run bed and breakfast. We had a friendly welcome, good breakfasts that sustained us for a day inthe hills, and a spacious room with balcony and the most wonderful view over the valley. Watched the birds on the feeder in the mornings and the sun setting at night over Long Mynd.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgannwg Ramblers Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was our first visit to Church Stretton with Cynon Valley Ramblers, and 6 of us stayed here. Lynn and Alan could not do enough for us. Lovely warm welcome, beautiful house and garden with superb views across the valley. Sunny, spotless and charming rooms with lots of attention to detail and super size comfy bed. Breakfast beautifully cooked and satisfying for the largest appetites. It would be difficult to find better accommodation in this area, with hosts who are happy to go the extra mile to make your stay as good as it gets. We would highly recommend Highlands. It takes around 20 minutes to walk into the town but not a problem if you have a car, and the views from the garden more than make up for the walk. As we were on a walking holiday this was not a problem and after a night out a taxi was readily available.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Can't believe what a fantastic B/B,and yes we really mean it.Every thing that can be done to help even people without a car was done for us.From start to finish of a 4nights break we were spoilt by Alan and Lynn,the wonderful Primrose room,the fantastic views,and the superb breakfast,the food in the main being locally sourced and even fresh milk in the mini fridge!!! Church Stretton is a lovely little town---fish and chip shop an absolute must says one who comes from Cornwall and we have loads of them.You won't regret any nights stay at highlands and we think you will be like us and plan return trip soon.

Room Tip: We looked at all the rooms during our stay and they are all gorgeous with brilliant views,you will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
242 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
761 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 22 in Church Stretton
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#3 of 22 in Church Stretton
198 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mynd House Hotel
Mynd House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
148 reviews
4.4 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#16 of 22 in Church Stretton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Property: Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing