We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My husband Chris and I have stayed with Alan and Lynne 5 times now, and we consider them good friends. From our very first visit to Highlands they have done everything to make us feel at home. The house is simply perfect, whichever room you choose. The attention to detail is faultless, and extends to the tasteful decor, the well-cooked food, and the jug of fresh milk in a fridge in your room for tea or coffee. Maybe there are other B & B's with attractive views and comfortable rooms, but there is only one that has Alan and Lynne Hyatt, and I recommend anyone to try it for themselves. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the garden and have views across to the Long Mynd. Primrose has french doors out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 186 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was there for mountain biking on the Long Mynd, my wife came along too for some local sight seeing. Alan and Lynn made us both so welcome. Even when I came back cold and wet and covered in mud we all laughed. Lynn hung up my wet clothes to dry and I was depatched to the hot shower.

The room was so lovely and warm, the breakfast was filling and the views were superb. We really couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The best, warmest and most welcoming B&B yet! We stayed two nights and are going back for more. Spacious, comfortable warm and spotless with two very friendly hosts. Food good and plentiful. The views from the rooms are spectacular, especially the sight of redpolls and nuthatches breakfasting out side as we breakfasted inside,where it was warmer.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for a Valentine's weekend, as a base to explore the Shropshire countryside, which we didn't know at all beforehand. We looked at various B&Bs in and around Church Stretton and this one stood out from the informative and welcoming website. What a good choice we made...! Alan and Lynn have a really lovely home, and were fantastic hosts, who were able to help with any queries we had on the area. Our room was large, comfortable, clean and tidy, and everything seemed a bit more special than you might expect for the price. Complimented by fantastic food, beautiful gardens, and fabulous views, we had a perfect weekend and look forward to returning soon! Thank you Alan and Lynn

Room Tip: Not telling you, as we might want it again!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineandJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed with Alan and Lynn for too short a time but would intend to put that right. Our room was large, warm and comfortable with spectacular views of the Carding Mill Valley and Long Mynd. Althought the weather was cold and we could not make the most of the balcony everything else was great. Lynn, the locally sourced breakfast was beautiful and Alan the coffee and toast was good too! Our hosts were friendly and helpful, recommending good local eateries, walks and other things of local interest. We enjoyed chats over breakfast and would recommend a visit to anyone. The situation at the top of a hill meant that the views were good but we walked down to the town in 15 minutes and back enjoying stretching our legs but driving down may be better for those with any ambulatory issues. Go on - give it a try - you wont regret it. We are converts from hotels to the better B&B's that are out there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerA371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here recently and was really pleased. It was warm, clean and comfortable, and nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Alan and Lynn even when we turned up after a hike with wet, muddy clothes which were whisked away to dry in the laundary room.

The rooms were very large with comfortable chairs and great views over the garden and surrounding shropshire hills. The weather was changeable, cool and wet but the rooms were warm and homely to return to at any time of the day. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ts44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having just arrived home after a very warm and friendly welcome at this top drawer bed and breakfast. A very comfortable room with everything needed for a trouble free stay. The following morning a good hearty breakfast was served in a beautiful dining room with lovely views of the Shropshire Hills but more importantly a well tended garden which it is a pleasure to walk round and the host and hostess are so knowledgeable that it becomes hard to move out to view some beautiful villages and lovely countryside
Mildred C

Room Tip: All rooms have good views and are very welcoming you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildred_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Church Stretton hotels
0.4 mi away
Brookfields Guesthouse
Brookfields Guesthouse
#5 of 21 in Church Stretton
154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#2 of 21 in Church Stretton
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#1 of 21 in Church Stretton
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
250 reviews
4.4 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#19 of 21 in Church Stretton
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Bed and Breakfast

Address: Highlands Hazler Road, Church Stretton SY6 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range: $33 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Highlands Bed And Breakfast Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing