We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lawley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Church Stretton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lawley House
Ranked #14 of 23 Church Stretton B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Wonderful to be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband discovered Lawley House in 2010 and I have been longing to go back ever since.
A birthday celebration gave the perfect excuse and once again, we were bowled over by the warm welcome from Jackie and Jim, personal service and great conversation.
But what makes a weekend here extra special is the house and setting; the house is one anyone would love to live in, the furnishings are superb and the views spectacular.
The conservatory and drawing room are just right for curling up with a good book in winter or summer, spring or autumn.
This time we had the newly-refurbished Wrekin room with a huge bed, beautiful furniture and curtains, wonderful view and luxurious bathroom with thick towels warming on a heated rail.
Everything is finished to a high standard.
There is real milk in the fridge (no plastic sachets here), a wide choice of hot drinks and biscuits.
The dining room is beautiful too and breakfast is served on fine china.
It is tailor made to the individual's requirements: my husband enjoyed the cooked fare, while I had the fruit, yogurt, toast and homemade marmalade. There is plenty of juice and tea too.
Lawley House is the perfect place to stay if you want a rural setting and to truly "get away from it all", yet it is close to Shrewsbury, Ludlow, Much Wenlock and Ironbridge. (A 4x4 vehicle is advisable to negotiate the narrow lanes in winter).
I can't wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose the Lawley or Wrekin room for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockley, Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Having just spent a week at this lovely Victorian House, wanted to pass on the good news. Jackie and Jim give such a warm welcome and the house is so spacious and beautiful. Superb breakfasts are served in a large, stylish diningroom, and the drawing room beckons with squishy sofas and chairs. But the conservatory has views to die for and comfortable chairs to enjoy the relaxation and peace. Wonderful gardens with lots of seating around to just relax. This beats many 5 star hotels and we shall definitely be returning. Thank you for a really lovely stay. Dorothy & David Brewer

Room Tip: The Lawley Room has a bay window to sit in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have been going to the Story Telling (Festival at the Edge) near Much Wenlock for several years now and discovered Lawley House one time from the internet. This year has been our third stay and we are now in love with the place. The personal service and friendliness are beyond any expectation. Our room was very homely with a wonderfully comfortable bed. Breakfast time is a delight and our hosts always attentive. The large conservatory and well maintained gardens are the icing on a very nice cake! Lawley House is the best of 'Englishness' we have yet experienced. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieporridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I booked 4 of us into Lawley House which I found in Sawday's Guide and we were all most impressed with the hospitality and wonderful 'looking after' we received. Towels were draped over warmed heaters and beds were heavenly guaranteeing a good nights sleep after busy days visiting many of the local places of interest. Our hosts recommended nearby restaurants in the evenings and made bookings for us. An excellent place to stay and we will certainly return. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walker051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

This is a really nice place to stay if you want an good b&b experience on the english country side - conservatory included! :-) We arrived late in the night and was just happy that the navigation system worked so well. After a wonderful breakfast the morning after and a nice chat with the other guest and the host couple we left with a nice memory of the good hospitality and friendly, good service. The jacket we managed to forget after departing was quickly sent to us and we were so happy for that. We recommend this cosy place with its beautiful garden and friendly hosts, kind regards Heléne & Keith

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

We found this delightful B&B via the Alastair Sawday book which really doesn't do it justice. After following the owner's instructions - it's 2 miles down very narrow country lanes, complete with cows, you come to Lawley House. The gardens are a delight, being overlooked by a spacious conservatory where you are welcomed with afternoon tea. Our room overlooked the garden then to the hills beyond and was an oasis of calm.

Breakfasts are freshly cooked to order and served on Minton china - a nice touch of luxury - with copious jams, marmalades etc to accompany the hot toast.

Jim & Jackie make you very welcome in their home and are happy to share their knowledge of the area with you. We would certainly stay there again - it's excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vokon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

My husband found this establishment on the internet, after we decided we wanted to stay somewhere rural, rather than a hotel in Telford, from which to explore the area.
It's one of the best decisions of our life!
After being shown our room, which looked out on the garden and countryside beyond, we were shown into the conservatory and brought a tray of tea and biscuits.
Our hostess and her husband were welcoming and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, with breakfast cooked to order each day and recommendations made re places to eat.
Our room was superb: warm and cosy, with lovely furniture, a comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities (with biscuits), delightful shower room (luxurious towels), and TV if required.
Breakfast was served on fine china in the most elegant of dining rooms.
A grand piano and interesting pictures added to the ambience.
But above all, when choosing a B&B over a hotel, you want good service and Lawley House provides the epitome of this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kittyginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
20.3 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
20.4 mi away
Sayang House
Sayang House
#2 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
20.1 mi away
Victoria House
Victoria House
#1 of 23 in Church Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Mynd House Hotel
Mynd House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Stretton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
24.5 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#17 of 23 in Church Stretton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
18.9 mi away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#1 of 1 in Cardington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lawley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawley House

Property: Lawley House
Address: Smethcott | off A49, Church Stretton SY6 6NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Lawley House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing