We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 5 day holiday break.”
Review of Sayang House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sayang House
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our 5 day holiday break.”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved our stay at Sayang House in Shropshire. We appreciated the warm welcome we got from you both and we thank you for the wonderful five day stay with comfortable accommodation, great breakfasts and mouth watering evening meals.

The Countryside was equally stunning as was the weather, during our stay.

We will, certainly come back to stay at Sayang House, with you both, in the future.

Thanks for all of your efforts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
153
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Sayan House was a very pleasant surprise. We were to stay with friends and their house suddenly had some civil problems, and they asked us to stay at Sayan House.
We went reluctantly but to our surprise it was one of the most relaxing, caring, warm, clean home in the name of a hotel that we had stayed in.
Patrick and Madeline make it special. They literally open their home to the guests.Everything from the room cleanliness, bathroom spotless, to the toiletries all were special. The first time I have stayed in a hotel that actually gives you good name brands of toiletries, which makes you feel confident to use. The breakfast made by Patrick is fabulous, and filled with his special attention and care. Shropshire has some beautiful sites, the old church is just round the corner. We stayed 3 nights and had lots to do, making it our base to go see other sites. They do lunches and dinners, so you can order from them and packed or sit down your choice. Must go place if around the UK

Room Tip: You will need transport as its not really downtown Shropshire
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indurao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Embsay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a large ensuite shower room. The kitchen downstairs was a useful addition enabling us to make picnics and keep snacks\drinks cold; having fresh milk provided rather than long life milk in small cartons was an added bonus. The lounge was comfortable and the perfect place for a chat over coffee after dinner.

We were well looked after by hosts Patrick and Madeline with Patrick keeping us well entertained during our 2 night stay! Breakfast and dinner were delicious with ample helpings of tasty food cooked by Madeline. The homemade cake that greeted us on our return from a day out walking was very much appreciated (as was the cold remedy!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 249JenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The cooked breakfast and evening meal were excellent, the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The hosts were friendly and helpful, and it is in a lovely spot.
Fresh milk from a fridge rather than the silly plastic pots also suited us.
Church Stretton also provided good possibilities for eating our and the Long Mynd looks beautiful - only spoilt by the rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great Saturday night stay (19th October). Wonderful hosts who couldn't do enough for you, excellent accommodation, locally sourced food all beautifully preapared (with the bonus of being able to bring your own wine along for dinner) and all in a lovely setting. Couldn't be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed a wonderful Saturday evening stay at this delightful B&B and can highly recommend it. We made a short trip to Shropshire from London looking for some fresh air in our lungs and that's exactly what we got! The B&B is spotless, the garden gorgeously maintained with a lovely view of the hills behind and the rooms impeccably clean and welcoming. We will definitely be back for a longer stay as there is a lot more walking to be had around charming Church Stretton and the wild surrounds!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndalyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had an absolutely outstanding stay at Sayang House. The accommodations and food are fantastic and Madeline and Patrick are more than gracious hosts. The immediate grounds and the beauty of Shropshire abound. We'll be back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kegsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Church Stretton
1.8 mi away
The Longmynd
The Longmynd
#1 of 1 in Church Stretton
244 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
771 reviews
10.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
443 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
The Raven Hotel & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Much Wenlock
420 reviews
4.3 mi away
Affcot Lodge
Affcot Lodge
#16 of 22 in Church Stretton
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang House

Property: Sayang House
Address: Hope Bowdler, Church Stretton SY6 7DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Church Stretton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Church Stretton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm Friendly B&b Set In 1 Acre Of Landscaped Garden In Shropshire Amongst The Rolling Hills. Great For Walking And Visiting Historic Places. All Rooms En Suite With Tea Coffee Television Home Made Biscuits Chocolates And Toiletries. Guests Own Sitting Room With Wood Burner And Patio Area, when weather permits. There is a fridge and Kitchenette for visitors use. Evening Meals available on request most diets catered for, I can try . Anyone interested I can host a Thermomix Demonstration. All Food Is Sourced Locally Using Shropshire Produce When Available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sayang House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang House Church Stretton, Shropshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing