We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didnt feel welcome” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Housmans Restaurant & Bar

Housmans Restaurant & Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Didnt feel welcome”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited this bar last Sunday night with the intention of ordering a meal as it had been recommended - however we arrived at approx 6.15pm and was advised last orders for meals was 6pm. We then watched as MANY other people entered the bar and ordered/served food. From the moment we entered this establishment we were treated like we didnt belong there and wonder how this place manages to capture any tourist trade with this kind of attitude. We are visiting Church Stretton next month and wont bother going to Housmans!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kirstie186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    100
    31
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cool little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great little place serving lovely good and good beers. Had two lovely pizzas here on a Tuesday night.- watch out for the group practicing their French. Makes for a nice continental atmosphere!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Third visit, not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked table for Saturday night all Ok on arrival.
this is the third time we have used the restaurant and the atmosphere is always lively , and easy going in this otherwise sleepy town.
Food this time was less than average, the sea bass was served on a plate barely warmed and with a tired tomato sauce which at best was cool. the veg accompaniments on the same plate were well over cooked and indistinguishable. Seemed like dish had been plated earlier and simply flashed under a grill.
my colleague had the wild boar which was somewhat dry and over cooked perhaps.
the cheese option for dessert had been clear
Y prepared early as plate,cheese,grapes and biscuits were all still chilled as if just lifted out from the fridge.
they can do better than this , as we have been twice before
srevice still good but some shortcuts in food preparation will damage their reputation

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Customer Service second to NONE...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Having seen a 'seafood night' advertised which we were unable to make I phoned Housmans to see if they would prepare two lobsters if I pre-booked as I had a friend staying for the weekend who loves this dish but one which you don't often see on the menue. The owner was so helpful and kind and we had the most fantastic birthday meal ever even though this dish is not on the normal menu. I am sure that they do not want to encourage 'bespoke' dishes for customers but for a very special occasion I was overwhelmed with how accommodating Housmans were. A big THANK YOU my friend had the best birthday ever xxx

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraSaraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Church Stretton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Party of eight on August 1st, then as a couple on the 8th for a night of great live saxaphone music, wonderful staff with a sense of humour and do not lack great service. Food is always top
class, unsung hero is chef Neill. Keep up the great work Nikki, Jay & you lovley girls.
When it is hot the doors are opened but this improves the atmoshere unless of course you are detrmined not to enjoy yourself. Some ought to live a life as well as get one.

Night spot feel in a small provincial market town hits the mark.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Housmans Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 
Church Stretton, Shropshire
Church Stretton, Shropshire
 

Been to Housmans Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing