We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sands Caravan & Camping Park
Nearby Hotels
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
$222
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
$161
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Inn(Gairloch)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveler rating
224
43
9
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
224
43
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswell stocked shopsand dunesgreat campsitethe barncafe restaurantfire pittoilet blockon site shopcooking areaplay parkgames roomlarge sitepitch your tentcommunal fridgebrilliant sitechoose your owncooking facilities
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 280 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here as a group - 5 tents including 2 familes with small children and a couple in one of the static caravans - for a long bank holiday weekend and had an amazing time. It helped that the weather was fantastic but the site facities and views would make up for any bad weather!

We camped right by the sand dunes which the chlidren loved and spent 2 of our 4 days just chilling out on the campsite and the beach. The shower block is the best I have ever encountered on a campsite - good space in the cubicles, hooks to hang your clothes on, free hairdryer and plugs if you take your own. There is even 2 huge stone sinks you can bath babies and toddlers in!

There is a great washing up facility indoors with hot water and big catering style sinks. There are also picnic tables in here should the weather be wet.

Stunning site, well worth the drive! Get there early at busy times to make sure you get a good spot! Although even when the site was busy it didn't feel overcrowded due to the layout.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed in a static caravan at this park in September 2011. It was a great place to stay in a beautiful part of the country. The site itself is right by the beach and is great for kids in the summer. The facilities at the site are good with laundry, showers, dishwashing and a well stocked shop onsite.

The caravan itself was surprisingly nice, almost luxurious, with 2 bedrooms, DVD player and TV and fantastic views out to sea.

There's a great butchers in nearby Gairloch for stuff for a barbecue if the weather's good.

If there is a downside, it's that the site is quite remote and there is not a pub or restaurant within walking distance. This was not a problem for us though.

Room Tip: We were in Caravan no. 5.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tammer1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were very impressed with the large wigwams. Very clean and well looked after. The site couldn't be better placed on the coast. Spent lots of time on the beach as we were lucky with the weather. The midges got a bit bad on the day we left but that was simply as the weather had turned damp. Toilet and shower blocks were basic but fine. The shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. We loved the area and would deffo go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetrekker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just came home from a weeks stay here in our big family tent. We were lucky with the weather as it was dry and sunny all week except for one day. Midges were hellish and we tried every repellent going, Smidge seemed to be the best one! Site was lovely and we pitched up near the main road away from the main tent area round the swings etc, a bit more space. Toilet facilities were immaculate and the shop very well priced. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Dogs not a problem at all and laundry facilities great. Beach was lovely, we tended to avoid it as we wanted to go to quieter beaches where we could let the dog run free without worrying about her with small children. Would definitely return to this site but would have to kill all midges first!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NippyGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July 2011. First time we have been back for several years. I forgot what a lovelysite it is. Lots of space for camping, lovely beach, great location and well kept facilites. If you want a little more peace then pitch away from the play area but this did not worry us.

All the pitch areas are spacious and you will not get boxed in.

We hired a canoe for the whole dayfor just £20; great value. The bay is safe to swim and use boats with clear clean water; with the odd jelly fish. A good place for families with young children.

It is dog friendly and there is no evidence of dog mess. Owners were all responsible.

Take a good insect repellent and sun cream. It can get warm enough for sun burn so don't be fooled by the fact that it is so far north.

It would be a great place to stay in mid summer with the long days.

There is a good well stock shop on site.

It would be worth staying for longer as there is a lot to do in the area;especially if you like the outdoors.

Room Tip: Insect repellent and warm cloths for the evenning even in summer.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauljohnson303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews