We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The Millcroft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Millcroft
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed April 6, 2010

A fantastic position overlooking the sea which provided me with the perfect location for my photography work. The staff were very helpful and friendly, nothing being too much trouble. Top food and great banter in the bar. The rooms are clean and comfortable, you couldn't of asked for more given the reasonable cost. Highly recommend it if you fancy a cheap get away in the tranquility of North West Scotland.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ew950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 155 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2010

Just returned from another new year visit to Gairloch. The weather this year was totally different with frost and snow. However the warm welcome and good food more than made up for the cold weather. Open first in Fish Box Bar takes some beating! Geraldine, Karen, Lynn and Jim were as welcoming as ever. Enjoy your own breaks.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
Thank GannetAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

We ennjoyed our stay at this hotel, with it's excelllent location above the beach at Gairloch. The old fashioned style is nice for a change, but it has to be said that the rooms are looking very dated but are clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good.
The price could do with being a bit lower to reflect the standard of accomodation.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

The owners are clearly on a long term plan to upgrade the hotel. All the public rooms are great but the bedrooms are a little tatty. We had a family room which actually had 3 rooms. The kids loved the space but the decor and bathroom was very tired. Welcome from the staff was excellent. The restaurant has a simple menu but the food was well cooked. The kids loved the Pizzas.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boondoggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This is a tired hotel a needs a refurb
Our bedroom its self was a good size but that's the only good point
The green carpet was badly fitted , the twin room had double quilts with well washed faded bedding and consisted of melamine or formica bedroom furniture.
You went through a sliding door to the en suite and this had patched lino on the floor a shower that needed new silicone around the tray as it had gone black in patches ,the shower head was held on the fitting with an elastic band (quite a good invention actually) and the water flow was terrible ,i gave it a miss .
It reminded me of faulty towers , it was a throw back to the 60's
The hotel its self needed a good shake up , in its day i can imagine it was a smart hotel as the position is lovely ,and that's the only thing i can say in its favour.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Geraldine was lovely, the breakfast was nice, the rooms were clean, but there was not one inch of floor space to put a suitcase. I don't know if all the rooms are the same, but there are other options in Gairloch.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Via1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

ive never had a welcome like i got here its a lovely hotel the food is fab and the staff are the best so helpfull gairloch is a beutiful place cant wait to go back

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crampy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
377 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
303 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft

Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of self-catering apartments available as well as our public bar and our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Millcroft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing