We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely people but the smallest rooms ever”
Review of The Millcroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millcroft
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely people but the smallest rooms ever”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Geraldine was lovely, the breakfast was nice, the rooms were clean, but there was not one inch of floor space to put a suitcase. I don't know if all the rooms are the same, but there are other options in Gairloch.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Via1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    15
    13
    15
See reviews for
35
56
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2009

ive never had a welcome like i got here its a lovely hotel the food is fab and the staff are the best so helpfull gairloch is a beutiful place cant wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crampy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosneath
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2009

Stayed at the Millcroft on several occassions now and each time in the self catering block, we usually take our dog (gemma) with us and she loves running around with the hotel dogs (chilli and sasha). The staff are friendly and efficient in dealing with any issues that arise during your stay.
Gairloch itself is not a hot spot for night life but more for a relaxed walking on the beach type of stay, with many beaches in the surrounding area all of which are sand and safe to use at all time of the year.
Restaurant and bar closed during the off season but open at the weekend when the bar is a warm and relaxed place to sit and enjoy the comany of strangers, no, not strangers, new friends. we will be returning again and again and ag... well you get the picture.

  • Liked — freedom to come and go as we wished
  • Disliked — December, it was blooming cold
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perkifish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just back after spending my third Hogmany/New year .
Once again the welcome and fairwell was just as if we were staying with family.
The coal fire in the Fish Box bar is a great focal point.
Dinner could not be faulted with a marvelous selection of dishes even vegitarians are catered for.
I have stayed twice during the summer months and then there is a great selection of locally caught sea food.
All being well hope to return during Summer 2009 and again for Hogmany/New Year 2009/2010.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos.
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and each time found the experience to be very good. The hotel is situated in the beautiful local village of Gairloch which boasts some excellent views and scenery. The hotel itself has an excellent bar and restaurant which serves very good food. I highly recommend the salmon fish fingers and the Sunday roast. The rooms were good and clean and the hotel staff are warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble.

  • Liked — Bar and Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Glos
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This was our 3rd visit to the Millcroft (twice self catering) and we hope to return.
The staff were helpful and very friendly . Rooms were good, clean and had everything needed. All rooms we have stayed in had amazing views!
The food was wonderful, all freshly cooked, hot, well presented and served by friendly staff . The salmon fingers were one of our favourites( fish fingers are not just for kids!) and the sticky date pudding is the best we've tasted........worth travelling for!!
We enjoyed breakfast, even having it a couple of times when we self catered. I wish I could cook eggs so well!
Thankyou to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. We hope to be back!

  • Liked — food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yatetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Room ok - nice view, but had red bedding and ensuite with old, dodgy sliding door, dark maroon shower tiles and old tired furniture . Heating only went on at 5.30pm so room cold and took a long time to heat up.
Nice bar and good bar meals - pity the breakfast wasnt anything like that - the worst, greasy strange tasting breakfast I've had. Helpful staff - trying to do their best with an old tired hotel.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank HollyDayAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft

Property: The Millcroft
Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of self-catering apartments available as well as our public bar and our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing