We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the sun sets”
Review of The Millcroft

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millcroft
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed January 7, 2009

Just back after spending my third Hogmany/New year .
Once again the welcome and fairwell was just as if we were staying with family.
The coal fire in the Fish Box bar is a great focal point.
Dinner could not be faulted with a marvelous selection of dishes even vegitarians are catered for.
I have stayed twice during the summer months and then there is a great selection of locally caught sea food.
All being well hope to return during Summer 2009 and again for Hogmany/New Year 2009/2010.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenAlly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 153 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel and each time found the experience to be very good. The hotel is situated in the beautiful local village of Gairloch which boasts some excellent views and scenery. The hotel itself has an excellent bar and restaurant which serves very good food. I highly recommend the salmon fish fingers and the Sunday roast. The rooms were good and clean and the hotel staff are warm and friendly with nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmg001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

This was our 3rd visit to the Millcroft (twice self catering) and we hope to return.
The staff were helpful and very friendly . Rooms were good, clean and had everything needed. All rooms we have stayed in had amazing views!
The food was wonderful, all freshly cooked, hot, well presented and served by friendly staff . The salmon fingers were one of our favourites( fish fingers are not just for kids!) and the sticky date pudding is the best we've tasted........worth travelling for!!
We enjoyed breakfast, even having it a couple of times when we self catered. I wish I could cook eggs so well!
Thankyou to all the staff who made our stay so enjoyable. We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yatetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Room ok - nice view, but had red bedding and ensuite with old, dodgy sliding door, dark maroon shower tiles and old tired furniture . Heating only went on at 5.30pm so room cold and took a long time to heat up.
Nice bar and good bar meals - pity the breakfast wasnt anything like that - the worst, greasy strange tasting breakfast I've had. Helpful staff - trying to do their best with an old tired hotel.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank HollyDayAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

This hotel has recently been taken over and I have to say the staff are great. It is a family run affair with everyone mucking in to do anything that needs done.

We stayed in one of the self catering apartments which are part of the main hotel, we entered via a door in the main corridor, and there was a downstairs area for coats ec then up stairs to a small hall and adequately sized double room (very comfy) a twin room a small kitchen and a living area complete with dining table and chairs. There were views out over gairloch bay from both bedrooms and the living area which were stunning.

There were adequate utensils crockery etc, a fridge microwave and cooker and the apartment was spottlesly clean. The owner introduced herself and showed us where everything was.

We ate in the hotel a few nights and the food is fantastic especially the venison steak. There were good choices and the breakfast although £8.50 was enough to keep you going all day.

The location is fantastic on a small hill overlooking the bay with views to Skye. We were lucky with the weather and the hotel had outside seating (although you were not allowed food or drink outside after 9pm) There are 2 bars one which allows dogs in and a restaurant again all with superb views.

The bar offers a good selection and even sells alcohol to take to your apartment that is reasonably priced £15 for bottle of vodka.

The hotel is full of hospitality and is very traditional in its decor and atmosphere.

Loads to do and see in the area and a few places to eat nearby including a great chipshop that sold the biggest ever pickled onions!!! But for anyone who enjoys traditional family run hotels I highly reccomend here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lferr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pbo1033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled solo
1  Thank ciuffex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
356 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
159 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
219 reviews
8.5 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft

Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: $41 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel is a newly refurbished hotel in the Highlands of Scotland. We are located in the centre of Gairloch (NC500), overlooking the bay. We have sea-view en-suites and a number of self-catering apartments available as well as our public bar and our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing