We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned but friendly”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Millcroft Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

I am only rating the food in the restaurant as we did not stay here. The decor is very dated, but some might appreciate it as charming. Try to book a table in the seafront part of the restaurant for a marvellous view. The food is ok to good, if over-priced (but then eating out is very expensive in this part of the world). The service is friendly, though, and the beer tasty as well. Don't expect cosmopolitan standards of cuisine, and you'll go away happy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Strozzapreti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    35
    15
    13
    15
See reviews for
34
55
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Millcroft for 2 nights and had a pretty decent stay. I booked over the phone which was problem free. Our room wasn't too bad. Out our window we could see the sea, so good views. It was clean for the most part, although we did put a bag on top of the wardrobe and the bag was really dusty when we took it down as there was quite a bit of dutsy already on top of the wardrobe.. The room does need to be redecorated, but it was fine for us (and we were only there for 2 nights).

We did eat in the restaurant our first night and the food was pretty good. The only complaint was that although there were Heinz bottles of ketchup on the tables, it was so not even close to being Heinz ketchup. My husband pointed this out (it has to be Heinz!!) and spoke to the waitress about it, and she just laughed saying that it probably wasn't Heinz!

Breakfast the following morning wasn't too bad, although my sausage wasn't cooked all the way through. But it filled us up!

We went for a Rib boat tour which was good fun, although we didn't see any whales! And later on in the day we went to one of the National Trust Gardens. Even though it was raining a bit, we had a lovely walk.

We went to a different hotel for dinner on our last night (The Old Inn - will do a review later about that place - all good though!).

Our overall stay was fine. The price was right and the food was good and the staff were friendly. Just our room was a little tired and needs a little TLC.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKJacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel but popped in a couple of times to the Fish Box Bar to sample some of their seafood. The staff were friendly and the food yummy. One of the few places in Giarloch which actually sells local seafood on the menu. Very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrekker66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We ended up booking a night in this hotel as the few B&Bs available on the Internet were full. And it was a mistake...
First of all you pay more than for a high range B&B or guesthouse. The room we got was small, even tiny, you could touch the walls when extending your arms on the bed. The furniture was so old and of such poor quality it looked like it hadn't been refurbished in 40 years. You need a magnificient glass to watch TV because it's so small, and even though they had sky the TV didn't work anyway. Same for the hairdryer. The window was broken and kept slightly opened by a book. Not to mention the bathroom, of decent size but old and above all with a shower that did not work at all: no pressure of course, but worse, no water for several minutes because other guests (supposedly) were taking a shower at the same time. Nice when it happens to you and you are full of soap !

Of course we complained about this to the staff, not very friendly by the way, who replied that their hotel was a 2 stars and provided all that's legally required for that. The minimum it is...

On the good side, the bed is okay.

The hotel is also a pub, but we found it a bit gloomy and only stayed in the hotel to sleep and leave quickly.

The only hotel we stayed in during a 2 week trip around Scotland, the only negative experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilouGaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Usually tend to stay in the main chain hotels, so it was an experience to stay in a smaller, local hotel in Gairloch. We found the Millcroft hotel on the internet and booked last minute, 2 days before we were due to stay.

Its a small, family run hotel, with a cosy friendly feel, and located at the top of a hill overlooking the loch. Initially booked in for 1 night, but ended up staying 2. First day we were there, the weather was at best interesting, at worst terrible!! We were considering leaving and moving on to another area of Scotland, but the owners persuaded us to stay and see the local area.

The hotel really added to the experience of our stay, and I would have no hesitation in recommending them to anyone. Excellent room, great breakfast. Keep up the good work. Will definitely consider going back! Many thanks.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank crazydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

I visited the Millcroft several times, the onset of the their highland games at nearby Strath was a momentious occassion. A room over Loch Gairloch, food to die for, locally sourced, We enjoyed a party with locals till 5 am, been before. But fell in love with Millcroft,. Run by an Italian chap, passed onto daughter. Sadly up for sale.
Hope it remains in Local hands, like the Olde in Gairloch,.
Enjoy the Millcroft, the walks, views the bar, food and hospitality, MAKE IT A MUST STOP.
ON A SCALE OF 1 to 100 . Definitly 90,. Only because there are 2 in the highlands on an even par.
If I had £450,000 I,d snap it up. a suprior 3 star rating.

Room Tip: Room with a view over loch gairloch and the strath
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio51Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

The Millcroft is a welcoming family run hotel with staff eager to tell about the area and places to see. Rooms are basic but comfortable and beautifully clean, most have a view of the loch and mountains of Skye. Seafood and steaks pretty wonderful, only disapppointment, poached eggs not available at breakfast!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morganorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.5 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
3.0 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Millcroft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Millcroft Hotel

Property: The Millcroft Hotel
Address: Strath, Gairloch IV21 2BT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Millcroft Hotel, Bar and Bistro is a family friendly hotel and restaurant located in Gairloch, in the North West Highlands of Scotland. We offer both hotel rooms and self catering apartments to suit whatever type of holiday or trip you are planning. Sea views are available in most of our rooms here at the Millcroft, and a traditional hot or continental breakfast is included within hotel prices . The Millcroft has two dining rooms, The Stag's Head and Hartley's Bistro, both of which boast breathtaking views of Loch Gairloch and the Isle of Skye. With our passionate kitchen and waiting team, we will make sure you have a perfect meal. We also offer a children's menu which includes a free ice-cream with every child's meal. The Millcroft has two bars, which have a fine selection of Local Ales and Whiskey for you to try whilst enjoying your stay or meal at The Millcroft. The Millcroft is only a short walk from local amenities such as a convenience shop, bus stop and chemist. Beaches are also only a short walk from The Millcroft. Our apartments are pet friendly, and your furry friends can stay for an additional charge per day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Millcroft Hotel Gairloch
The Millcroft Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing