We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay great food and atmosphere”
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed August 31, 2009

Great hotel, very nice friendly atmosphere and definately the best food in Gairloch.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barneyboyscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    78
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
49
155
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2009

This hotel has stunning views over a bay in Gairloch .It has a huge conservatory at the fron wher you can relax with a book or a drink a nd just look at the sea.The rooms are a little dated but very clean and comfortable ...just remember this is North West Scotland and not the West End of London !
The food here is superb and reasonably priced .The seafood platter is HUGE ! and very good .Breakfast are excellent .Order the Smoked slamon and be very surprised at the quantity of fish you get !

There is a lot to do near here and the hotle is well placed for walking , boat trips and journeying to surrounding beauty spots .

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank philrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2009

Very friendly and efficient, everything you would want at the end of a day. Scrupulously clean, and yellow duckies in the bath! Made no judgements when we arrived in damp motorbiking gear.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilliongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We booked into the Myrtle Bank Hotel after reading other reviews, and we were very pleased that we did. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, and the location of the hotel on the beach shore, with views over to the Isle of Skye was an added bonus. We were very fortunate to be given a room, as the family rooms had all been taken, however they very kindly allowed us to put an extra bed into a double room so that our daughter could sleep in with us. The food is tremendous and varied, and the only slight downside, was the length of time we had to wait for our evening meal on the first night there. That said, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, and as we were on holiday we were happy to wait. Would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

me and my mate were on a biking tour of scotland and stayed here for one night. parking was easy and the hotel itself was clean and comfortable. The food was very well presented and cooked really well, good chef i thought. The hotel residents were mostly older people 50-100 age range no louts other than us, the hotel staff were mostly young between 17 and 25 age range, nothing was too much trouble for them and to say that they were friendly and welcoming is an understatment, can't praise them enough. We had a night in the hotel bar and by time it was over we knew all the staffs names ages etc etc, and to boot half the residents too. exellent place to stay. very quiet village with outstanding views of skye, On leaving the village i had a problem with my bike, we stopped outside a house to sort the problem out and spent over an hour talking to the house owner who helped to fix the problem and gave us oil. Where else would that happen? Fantastic place, I would live here. cant fault anything at all lovely place lovely people.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2009

A warm welcome, fast check-in.
Wide lounge and nice restaurant with a great view on Isle of Skye.
Easy to park.
Very good continental and scottish breakfast, wide choice and a very nice service.
Room was clean and comfortable. Unfortunetely we stayed in the rear with no view on the sea.
Probably with sunny weather it would be one of the best places to stay in Gairloch for longer than one night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs,UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

Spent 3 very enjoyable nights at the Myrtle Bank and was very impressed at the quality of the food both in the mornings and in the evenings.
Breakfast is served in the restaurant which has lovely views out across Gairloch bay and to northern Skye. There is plently of choice with juice, cereals, yoghurt and fruit, to be followed by the freshley cooked full highland breakfast or scrambled eggs and salmon. The quality is superb and the portions big enough to fill the heartiest of appetities - you won't be needing an early lunch!
Evening meals are served in the lounge bar, and there is plenty of choice on the menu with the emphasis on local seafood. The quality of the food is again superb at the price, and the service excellent, and as with the breakfast, the portions are very generous.
The hotel also has a public bar serving an excellent pint of Tradewinds real ale. Best enjoyed sitting in the small garden at the front of the hotel, watching the sun setting over Skye, and listening to the waves lapping and the oystercatchers calling... magical.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
264 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
567 reviews
8.1 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Hotel

Property: Myrtle Bank Hotel
Address: Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome to the Myrtle Bank Hotel. We are located in the heart of the Highlands on the shores of Gairloch, an ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt beauty of Wester Ross, famous for it's spectacular sunsets, rugged scenery and it's golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing