We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Myrtle Bank Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

a group of 7 on motorcycles we had an exelent stay ,with good food both for dinner and breakfast

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordon h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    77
    15
    2
    2
See reviews for
48
148
17
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Spent one night in the hotel as a stop over on a tour of North Scotland with some friends. Although we were only staying for a Saturday night we were all given excellent rooms and we found the staff to be friendly, helpful and enthusiastic. The standard of dinner was very good and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc0ttietraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

We were not staying in the hotel but went for dinner. The staff were very friendly. The decor is very basic, but the view from the restaurant is. Death taking. Food was gorgeous, huge portions, great value. I had Cullen skink and fish pie, could practically taste the sea the fish was so fresh.
Would defi Italy recommend

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzyb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Arrived to fined no reservation. However fixed with no fuss given the fact i had been expected two days earlier as per my booking oops. We were given keys to a suite as ther were no family room left. The room was fantastic, all mod cons two flat screen tvs roll top bath double aspect view waht more could you want. The weather was unusally outsrtanding, so the views from the room were the same. We booked for dinner and it was amazing. The presentation of the food was good however the taste was something ele, sheer delight. All the Staff were friendly and very helpfull. It makes a huge difference. a pleaseant stay,Highly recomend this Hotel. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The Suite we were given was room 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forrester A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many time on business and never been disappointed. The rooms are comfortable with lovely toiletries, large and spacious and ty posh biscuit - no custard creams! It's these wee touches that people love, a free bottle of water too... Not overly fancy but modern and nice. The restaurant has been done up over the years and the rest of the hotel too. Its good to see it all become very nice place to viait. The family who run it do everything they can to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant food is to a high standard with fish always excellent. Great big portions. One of the few places where they know how to do squid properly. Deserts always homemade and amazing. Views over the loch and beyond are pricely. Highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

We stayed one night at Myrtle Bank. We had a sea view room which was lovely and light and from which we spotted an Otter on the nearby rocks just as we were going down for breakfast; quite a common sight by all accounts. Locals had told us to eat at the hotel, and this is where it excels. I'm not a veggie but the veggie offerings on the menu were too tempting - leek risotto with beer-battered beetroot! The breakfasts too were the best we had all week - the owner and his wife are both charming and attentive, so too all the staff. A really well run hotel with excellent food.

Room Tip: We had a sea-view room and definitely would be our choice again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keyham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We have just returned from a short break to Gairloch although sadly we did not stay in this Hotel. Living abroad for 8 years we missed visiting this beautiful area. Many places have changed ownership and the Myrtle Bank has excelled.The recently decorated conservatory and dining areas were stunning and the food was outstanding! Just look out for the enormous portions!
Next time home we will stay here without a doubt! Congratulations to the new owners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
8.7 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myrtle Bank Hotel

Property: Myrtle Bank Hotel
Address: Low Road | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2BS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm highland welcome to the Myrtle Bank Hotel. We are located in the heart of the Highlands on the shores of Gairloch, an ideal base from which to explore the unspoilt beauty of Wester Ross, famous for it's spectacular sunsets, rugged scenery and it's golden sandy beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Myrtle Bank Hotel Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing