We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Gairloch Hotel(Gairloch)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shieldaig Lodge(Gairloch)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Millcroft(Gairloch)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poolewe Hotel(Poolewe)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Maree Hotel(Talladale)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Tigh an Eilean(Shieldaig)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (161)
Filter reviews
161 results
Traveler rating
41
62
39
15
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
62
39
15
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barsister hotelstayed herebreakfast was buffet stylebunk bedsbath and showershort walkroom numbercooked itemsnice pubmotorbike tourluxury hotelbreakfast roomwhale watchingnight stayfamily roomenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 161 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Stayed here for a couple of nights in late August as part of our West Coast holiday.
The hotel is slightly dated, but this adds to its charm. It has a 70s ambience which was interesting. Gairloch is a truely remote location and we found it wonderfully peaceful. The room was of reasonable standard and the breakfast was excellent for the few guests staying over this period.
We took advantage (not literally) of the 'honesty bar' which was well-stocked and clean. There is a lovely old guest lounge with Sky TV, books, numerous games and if you like chess there are several chess boards set-up and ready to play.
We ate at the nearby 'Old Inn' which provided some excellent pub food - especially the seafood and obviously has a great reputation within the area, judging by the number of diners in this otherwise remote location.
I would recommend this place to anyone, although might not be lively enough for those with families. The Lodge owner was also a very affable guy, who was very helpful.
Any meals/drinks taken at the Old Inn can also be charged to your Lodge bill, but make sure you remind the staff at the Inn about the 10% discount offer which you are given when booking into the Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dellb0ySalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Stopped off at the Gairloch Hotel once again while on a bike tour of the West Coast.

Owner give you a really friendly warm welcome. It's a lovely peaceful setting with the Old Inn just a couple of minutes walk to get some seriously tasty dinner.

Met the same group of bikers from England as we saw last year. You always know it's a great place when people go back time and time again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynners32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2007

I booked this hotel because we stayed at the Old Inn last year and it belongs to the same owner. I booked for 18 people and we were treated very well. The food is good and the breakfast is good too. There is even an honesty bar that you can use at night. Well done everyone at Gairloch Highland Lodge and the Old Inn for making us so welcome. We will certainly be returning again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain_G_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

This establishment has recently been taken over by the owners of the Inn down the hill. Very welcoming staff and a quite efficeient breakfast team but the rooms are very outdated in appearance. No doubt this is something the new owners will rectify but it looks like they need to be completely refurbished so may take some time.

  • Stayed: October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

Owned by the same people as The Old Inn (just 500 yards away), the Gairloch Highland Lodge is set above the road as you enter Gairloch from the south.

The hotel does not have lunches or dinners but you get a 10% discount at The Old Inn, where the food was excellent but reasonably expensive.

Breakfast at The Gairloch Highland Lodge is continental and there is plenty of it. You take breakfast in a room which overlooks the gardens and is very pleasant.

The bedrooms are not up to much and are badly in need of redecoration. Purple coloured wallpaper and awful pictures, we felt like we were back in the '70s !

There are no bar staff, instead the Lodge runs an "honesty system", you sign chits for what you take to drink. In the residents lounge there is satellite TV and numerous games such as snakes and ladders, chess etc. Plenty to keep the children occupied on a wet evening.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the location is good and the rooms are adequate and reasonably priced. Good value, will stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blue_Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews