We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Was not really sure of this hotel, no restaurant on the premices, located outside Gairloch, but our stay was a pleasant surprise, spacious rooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast.
Only thing that was missing was staff manning the bar in the lounge. This hotel has a honesty bar instead, but I find staff adding a pleasant atmosphere in a hotel.

Free wifi, but apart from the room, in the rest of the hotel a bit a matter of luck getting connected. The Hotel reccomends a restaurant five minutes down the road, called the Old Inn,
Would prefer a smaller restaurant, food is ok, but no atmosphere.
There are other restaurants in the area, not an issue not to prevent us to book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riemert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (160)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 160 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Thought I was going to be dissapointed with this hotel as it was not in the centre of Gairloch (my mistake ) but it was a pleasant surprise. Staff friendle rooms quite larege and clean and the breakfast certainly value for money. Overall excellent value

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spacious rooms, all facilities available, including free wireless. There was one challenge with the shower (pressure and temperature). There was a note at the reception mentioning this. Hotel has an "Honesty bar". It's like a mini bar in the hotel rooms but it's in the lounge. You get your drinks and snacks from a self service pantry and write down what you use.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DikvanOeveren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights along with our dog. We were given a room with direct access to the exterior whcih was very useful with the dog. The room was clean & spacious & they provided a bed, towels & water bowl for the dog for use whilst at the hotel which was a lovely touch. The staff were very helpful & the breakfast was very good (continental & hot buffet). They do not serve evening meal but their sister hotel (The Old Inn) is only 5 mins walk away & the food there is very good.

Room Tip: Rooms with direct ecternal access are extremely useful if you smoke or are travelling with a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim_d1058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Some things good but let down by others. Staff helpful and friendly. Room spacious, warm and clean, bed comfortable. Shower cubicle stupidly small given the size of the bathroom – a reduced size cubicle normally installed in the corner in small bathrooms, and water pressure totally inadequate. Breakfast buffet good and plentiful but nothing really hot enough. Good views from breakfast room. It is, relatively speaking, quite cheap for what you get though, which counts in its favour.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Nice,comfortable Room with a very nice view of the 'marina'
sufficient spread for breakfast
very conveniently located.
would definitely book again if I visit the area again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELFUN80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I have just returned from a wonderful week. We experienced the awesome grandeur of the mountains, the beauty of the changing loch including sightings of dolphins from the hotel windows. Our driver Stuart Smith and all the team at the hotel ,the friendly people in the village (thank you Jackie) helped to make our holiday in Scotland quite magical.

The food was excellent and good value for money. Service in the retaurant second to none and very personal helpful staff if any problems or requests.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
1.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
181 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
367 reviews
13.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
299 reviews
4.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
7 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Highland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Highland Lodge

Address: A835 and A832 | Wester Ross, Gairloch IV21 2AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: $121 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gairloch Highland Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gairloch Highland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Highland Hotel
Gairloch Highland Lodge Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing