We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed at Poolewe” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gairloch Pantry - CLOSED

The Gairloch Pantry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Stayed at Poolewe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were camping at Poolewe and decided to call at Gairloch as the weather had suddenly turned to a storm. We shared a starter of King Prawns and sweet chilly dip, Im glad we shared it as it was huge. We then both had the Crofters pie-a little bit like a Shepherds pie but had Haggis in it. The portions were huge again, and quite nice and filling on a chilly day.
We followed it with a cup of coffee in the lounge. Good home cooked food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great coffee and cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

Called here a few times during our week in Gairloch, consistently high standard of coffee and cakes, always delicious with really friendly staff.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great addition to Gairloch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Just dropped in for a coffee which is as good as you'll get in the big chains but cheaper. Didn't have food although the menu certainly looked interesting. No drinks licence unfortunately. Might try breakfast before we leave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scottandlindaArgyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We enjoyed the Harbour Lights so was interested to see what the new Gairloch Pantry was like. We weren't disappointed. The food is great, so is the coffee. The staff are very friendly and can't do enough for you. We're looking forward to heading there again on our next visit to the area. One teeny criticism; I like my red bush tea and can't get it here. But to be fair not many places do it. All in all it's a great place to go and a good kids menu too. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Witch-Woman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely little cafe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We visited Gairloch twice on our recent visit to the Highlands and liked this little cafe so much we visited both times. Staff were friendly and chatty (despite being very busy on the second visit as a small coach load had just arrived). Cakes were lovely, but the scones were stunning - freshly baked out of the oven and delicious! Would recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eirian238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gairloch Pantry also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing