We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Welcome Refuge in the Rain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gairloch Pantry - CLOSED

The Gairloch Pantry
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A Welcome Refuge in the Rain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Having visited it in its previous, not-so-wonderful incarnation "Harbour Lights" we were a bit reticent but it was raining and we noticed the change of name so in we went. First impressions were good - it has a new menu with some tasty looking things on it, might even be worth trying for a breakfast or lunch.

That said, we were just after tea and a scone and a bit of a refuge from the rain so maybe next time we'll try something more substantial. Service was fast and friendly and the tea and scones were well up to scratch. The only mark down was the toilets, which had nothing to dry my hands on.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank macindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    15
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent cafe - my choice for Gairloch. (Previously Harbour Lights)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place was a real find. We've visited twice for breakfast (bacon roll, salmon scrambled eggs) and then on another day for lunch (two different burgers). On both occasions we've been impressed with quality and price of the food.
I think it's under new ownership but don't let that put you off. It's an example of keep it simple and do it well. The outside look of the building is not the nicest but has a fine view overlooking the harbour. Staff were friendly and accommodating. I can't recall much about the interior which maybe suggests it needs a bit more styling/character though there was a good selection of seats.
I would return and would recommend to those looking for a cafe in Gairloch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LankySiWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have our own tea rooms in the dales and when we had the homemade soup it was delicious, we have arranged to go back before we return home, one is to try one of the homemade burgers and also to swap recipes, the tea room is clean, the staff very friendly and the food is yummy, we will be back of course

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gizmolucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Yummy and a terrific view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

With a view overlooking Gairloch's picturesque harbour, The Gairloch Pantry couldn't be better situated. The food is delicious, beautifully presented and served in a timely manner. The atmosphere is relaxed, welcoming and comfortable. The whole experience was so enjoyable and made so by owner Claire Cooper and her team. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SouthernBelle52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gairloch Pantry also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing