We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland Fish”

The Beachcomber fish & chip shop
Ranked #9 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bland Fish”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had Haddock and Cod as a family - very bland - kind of expected better. Went to Wetherspoons another day further south and that was amazing in comparison. Chips were ok. Chicken nuggets that daughter had were great hence average rating.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“awful food”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Over cooked haddock , over cooked frozen chips and curry sauce like water and expensive , don't waste your money

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 137DebzG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“Oh boy oh boy is this a great chippy !”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We were staying close by and didn't really fancy a restaurant meal and saw a sign by the road for here.
Not being too hungry we didn't order too much, and its a good job we didn't !!
The portions are truly enormous. Huge !
And its the best curry sauce I ever had anywhere !
The girls were chatty and friendly, very interesting conversation and it was definitely one of the best chip shop meals we ever had anywhere. Oh and there is a nice little seating area as well.
Brilliant !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Teddybears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice little chippy”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Looking at all the other reviews this little chippy seems to lack consistency. We called in at around 7.00 pm last week for a fish supper. We did have around a fifteen minute wait but the fish was tasty & I have to say the chips were excellent. So four stars from me & I would definitely call again if in Gairloch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the worst, Not the best”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Despite reading a lot of negative reviews and seeing we were on holiday I thought I would give this chippy a go! I am one of those who likes crispy batter (each to his own) and was not disappointed very nice and crispy batter and a very nice meal in general. Portion size was good, the only criticism I would have would be the wait, lack of friendly service and there seemed to be a lack of organisation from the staff in general. However I would go again as the quality of food was good in our experience!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beachcomber fish & chip shop also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Beachcomber fish & chip shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing