We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ivor & Chrisd's Hebrides Holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 17 Gairloch B&B and Inns
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ivor & Chrisd's Hebrides Holiday”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed with Mrs Taylor for one night after our return to the mainland. Her family were very welcoming and we were very impressed with the high standard of the accommodation which included a superb wetroom as en suite facilities. Mrs Taylor was very sociable and we were pleased to talk about her voluntary commitments with the local ATC and also her family connections to the Isle of Barra. The location has fine views and is within easy reach of hotel/ restaurant facilities

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ivor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Some places reviewed in TripAdvisor get a large number of excellent comments and when you go there, you can only corroborate the praises expressed.
Muldoanich deserves to be in this top category, but only has had a few reviews so far, which is a mystery to me. This BB is easily in the league of the best and has a few aspects that stand out, even in comparison with some of the very nice guesthouses.

The house is very modern and situated a bit up the hill, from where you have a nice view on Gairloch and its bay. It is a family run BB and nevertheless, guests have their own entrance into a large (breakfast) room from where you can access either the rooms or the cosy guest lounge, with real log in the fireplace! (for the colder season).

The accommodation is spotlessly clean, the beds are very comfortable and breakfast is generous and excellent, with all the standards you can expect. But Muldoanich has some special features:
The rooms are really large and nice, and the bathroom is beautiful, very modern with a large sink and, something I often miss in the UK, a modern tap (i.e. one with a handy lever). For the guests, there’s a separate entrance and that is a nice thing, because when staying in BBs, you’re often “drawn” into the family’s activities and share a lot with them, which can be great, but sometimes this can make you feel a bit like an intruder, and at times, as a guest, you also may wish to be more on your own. At Muldoanich’s, this is not the same: the family is in the background, in their own part of the house, but whenever you need anything, you can easily get attention and assistance. Marion, the host, is extremely helpful and nice, but not intrusive.
As it is situated a bit up the hill, the house is very quiet, but only 5 minutes walking away from the superb little restaurant Na Mara.

All the service is of a high standard, at a moderate price. What else you can ask for?
Muldoanich is certainly a BB I can recommend to every, even the most demanding traveller.

Jean-Marc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jm-basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duirinish
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We have just spent the most amazing 3 nights in this bed and breakfast. Marion was the most friendly welcoming host. the house has large modern bed rooms with unbelievable en-suits with walk in showers. The breakfast was a delight with plenty of choice. There was a nice large comfortable sitting room to relax in at night with plenty of board games, books and a TV to keep our wee girl amused. It is in walking distance of a great restaurant (Na Mara) that we found to be the best in Gairloch for menu, quality/quantity of food and price. we will take great delight in recommending this b n b to any one that is visiting the Gairloch area . Thanks again Marion we will definitely be back and wish you all the very best for this season and many more to come.

Kind Regards

Iain, Mary and Isabella.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigdobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed there end of May 2013. The house is great. Beautiful rooms, Bathroom could'nt be better, wish I had one like that at my home. A big living room for the guests is available and a nice braeakfast room with beautiful view outside.Free wifi. Mrs and Mr Taylor and their son served us very well and Mr Taylor gave us real good tips what to do and visit. There was nothing left to be desired. We can recommend this B&B absolutely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetteren, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This was the most luxury B&B we ever stayed in: a very large room, a good kingsize bed, a fantastic bathroom! The breakfast was great as well, and the host was very friendly. The location was good: near the city center of Gairloch. The B&B was easy to find using the intructions on their website.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at this b&b last year (sorry for the delay in posting review); we were made so welcome, it was excellent in all ways. The house was immaculate, food was brilliant, lovely guests living space with real fire, great views and nice and quiet.

Room Tip: We were a mother and daughter in a twin room which had a goergeous en suite wetroom, tea and coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
0.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast

Property: Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Strath, Gairloch IV21 2DA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Muldoanich Bed & Breakfast Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing