We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Solas Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Solas Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Gairloch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Great view from the rooms, fantastic breakfast, clean, relaxed and Isobelle and Graeme were exceptionally friendly. We do not normally stay in B&B's mainly because of previous experiences and lack of freedom but this stay has changed our view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GingeBlondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
44
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for one night on our way North. Isabel and Graeme are engaging, conversational, and dedicated hosts. The four of us enjoyed some lively discussions over Scotch. Breakfast was delicious. When making the reservation I mistakenly asked for a double room instead of a twin (which led to some nervous glances when we were shown our bed) but Isabel happily put me up in an other room. We arrived late and they called the local restaurants to see who would still serve us. The house is very new and immaculately clean. The beds were comfortable and I slept like a log. Outstanding value. Many thanks!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Had a relaxing stay at Solas. The views from the house, over the mountains, the sea and the island of Longa, were stunning. The house itself is very well designed and incorporates many energy saving features. Enjoyed a walk along the nearby Big Sand Beach. Breakfast was very good, and Graeme and Isabell were great hosts. Hope to see you again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forss10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Isabell and Graeme made us feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. This very modern B&B is suituated 2 and a half miles out of the village of Gairloch, following signs for Big Sand, its right at the end of the road on the left, overlooking the sea.
Lovely views from our room of the nearby beach and across the sea to Skye. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfy, facilities were excellent. (Disabled access to the room was available too) Tea and coffee making facilities and some short bread biscuits were in the room too! Yummy!
Breakfast was perfect, with the choice of cereal and juice and a lovely full Scottish breakfast, in the open plan living area again with lovely views through the massive windows. Isabell and Graeme again were excellent hosts, the time passed so quickly chatting to them.
Wish we could have stayed longer, but we could only stay one night. But we will be back!
The nearby village of Gairloch has some lovely places to eat, we had a lovely evening meal in The Old Inn and lunch in Na Mara, both we couldn't fault.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FizzScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
5.3 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
6.5 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
24.7 mi away
Summer Isles Hotel
Summer Isles Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achiltibuie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solas Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solas Bed and Breakfast

Property: Solas Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1 Big Sand, Gairloch IV21 2DD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Solas Bed And Breakfast Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing