We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Gem!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gairloch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lochview Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 17 Gairloch B&B and Inns
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Absolute Gem!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

If like us you appreciate excellent standards and a friendly host you will not be disappointed with this guest house. We stayed for two nights on our annual motorbiking holiday, this time touring the West Coast of Scotland. The guest house is very new and has been purpose built during the last few years. The owners property is behind this building and they come across to make breakfast and are on call should you need them.
The whole house is of an excellent standard,it also has a sauna room and a games room with a pool table. We did not use these facilities but they are a nice option should you wish to use them. The views over the loch are stunning and it is very peaceful setting which ensured a very good nights sleep.
The bedroom and bathroom was very spacious and very clean.
The breakfast was very substantial and had a excellent selection.
For people like ourselves who are travelling on a motorbike and like to walk to the local pub for food and a drink, be aware that you have quite a long walk to the centre of the village where most of the pubs are located.
With regard to directions the guest house is three miles from the beginning of Gairloch, assuming you are coming in from Kinlochwe on the A832, follow the main road through the village and round the bay go over the cattle grid and follow the road until you see the Loch View sign turn right up the hill (quite steep) about 500 yards and it is on your right.
The locals of Gairloch were very friendly from the local pubs, shops, cafes and the Leisure centre where we joined them for a cycling class and were made welcome by both the teacher and the locals who were attending the class.
We would like to say a big thank you to Lewis the owner for his hospitality and excellent service and we would most definitely recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham-Janice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

This really is a "jewel" as others have written. I have stayed at many places when touring alone around Scotland on my motorbike and never felt compelled to write a review before. The host, Lewis is a real gentleman who is very friendly and helpful, cooks a great breakfast and has built the finest place I have stayed in on my Scottish trips. Just look at the pictures and read how delighted all the other visitors have been.
I can't recommend this place enough - it's great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hathersage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2014

A very high standard accommodation, excellent in every way. New building and all fittings of the highest standard. Separate shared lounge and sauna and sitting out area looking over the bay. Nice friendly owners

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The B&B is a newly built house, beautifully designed, very clean and offers all facilities including sauna. This is a place where you might consider spending a few days. Gairloch and surroundings are superb and offer magnificent views. Friendly owner and his family live next door and are very nice hosts.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catalina555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moffat, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This bed and breakfast was the best we have ever stayed, The house had fantastic views over the loch and the facilities were second to none. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The owner was really welcoming and the breakfast was terrific- all good local produce. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to any one who likes a little bit of luxury at really affordable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I tour Scotland every year (for around a fortnight) at the beginning of May (and have done so for around 20 years now) staying in our favourite B&B’s for either one or two nights stopover. Each year we try to add a new venue, but these are often disappointing because, of the years we have become discerning (we have high standards by now!).

Lochview was chosen via the Web as our newbie for this year. Our expectancy wasn’t high, because of the relatively low rates levied. We were wrong!

A brand new purposely built building, a luxurious, beautifully fitted bedroom with both a shower and Jacuzzi style bath, extra comfortable bed and a freshly cooked (to our taste) breakfast. What more could anyone want? Wonderful!

This is five star accommodation. And yet was by far the least expensive venue of our trip.

I have one small criticism. The property has wooden floors throughout – as do many modern houses these days – but it does mean that the rooms are a little echoed – we could hear the guests upstairs moving around – and wonder if our night’s sleep might not have been as peaceful as it was if the house had been fully occupied?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katybear2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here in early October, the accommodation was excellent, we had the Mackenzie suite on the ground floor. we had a marvelous view of the loch, the room was spacious and very well appointed with a huge en-suite bathroom complete with jacuzzi bath. It was also next door to the sauna, ( no charge) , it was brilliant!! The breakfasts were superb with locally sourced products being provided which certainly set us up for the day. If you are in the area I would strongly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DACStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
1.1 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
262 reviews
3.4 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
185 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
566 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Old Inn
The Old Inn
#6 of 17 in Gairloch
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochview Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochview Bed & Breakfast

Property: Lochview Bed & Breakfast
Address: 41 Lonemore, Gairloch IV21 2DB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Gairloch
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Lochview Bed & Breakfast Gairloch, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing