We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and even better service”

The Shieling Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Pleasant bar and restaurant serving breakfast , lunch and dinner . Lovely views over to the Isle of Skye. Average prices . Snack menu .Childrens menu.Coffee lounge. Outside seating for 30 people. Free wifi for customers. HOURS ARE : Monday 10 till 4 pm Tuesday through Saturday 10 till 4 pm and 6 pm till 8 pm ( last orders) SUNDAY CLOSED
Banff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and even better service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Yet again another wonderful meal at the Sheiling. The food was excellent and the atmosphere to match. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Couldnt fault anything. I would certainly recommend the Sheiling to anyone visiting Gairloch. Look forward to returning next time we are up that way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs020608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    104
    22
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deutschland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We won't come back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went to the restaurant without making a reservation and hoped for the best as the location is very nice. The first answer was, that all tables are booked. As we were very insistent, a table was offered to us one hour later. So we waited in the bar. Seven tables were empty the whole time, three couples were sent home without offering a later time. The funny thing is, while we were eating the same 6 tables were empty the whole time and nothing changed when we left the restaurant.
Additionaly, the service was unfriendly and unhelpfull. We were told to order very quickly, as we decided for the salmon, we were told it wasn't there without any helpfull recommendations. We weren't even asked for new drinks... Everything was very rushed. Things were put on the table without any explanation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andalusien_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
I wish people would mention at the time and ask to speak to the boss and things could be corrected and the staff envolved could give their side.We never have all the tables on at once as how could we cook for that many people . We have 15 tables and the staff are instructed not too take too many orders at once .I can assure you while you were in the lounge the staff were not standing doing nothing as we had 8 tables in . It is very hard work in a busy kitchen so the orders must be staggered . I do apologise for running out of salmon but there is quite a lot of other fish to choose from . Please advise me who served you as you were not happy with the lack of attention . The staff are told if anyone who has booked a table has to wait too long to offer them a free drink . Those who chance it on a busy night have to wait I'm afraid .We did 54 dinners last night and I know it was last night as it was the only night we ran out of salmon . Some people expect to walk in and get a window table immediately .I am genuinely upset you weren't happy at the Shieling so if your in the area please come in and see me or e mail me at donaldcrerar@hotmail.com .Donald.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick bite to eat on flying visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Nothing to dislike, nice atmosphere. Fabulous view. Good food, good and quick service. I will definitely use again

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Child Unfriendly”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We walked into The Shieling on spec and asked for a table. We were told that there were none available, despite seeing empty tables everywhere. To make matters worse, we were dealt with in an offhand and inconsiderate manner. I believe the reason for our refusal was down to the fact that we had several children in our party. It was their loss: we went to the Old Inn and had a wonderful meal and spent a significant sum of money...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboB1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
The evening you are referring to must have been Tuesday the 23rd July as that's the only night we turned over 20 people away between 6pm and 7 pm as we were fully booked till 8pm. There were probably several tables empty waiting for the people to arrive . It had nothing to do with your children . The staff were informing guests there would be tables after 8pm.We've had 100s of children through the doors over the last 2 weeks and have updated the kids menu to offer more choices as we're delighted to have families dine here. I hope some families who have eaten here read this and corroborate this. The girls who were working are very pleasant and I can't imagine them being rude . If your back in Gairloch then please book a table and I will be delighted to cater for you . Donald .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Fantastic restaurant with beautiful views of loch Gariloch. There is a lovely area with big couches if you just want a drink. We ate breakfast there most mornings and enjoyed a lovely meal on my birthday. The food was freshly cooked and very well presented. The deserts are great too!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shieling Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Shieling Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing