We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night service!”
Review of Myrtle Bank Hotel

Myrtle Bank Hotel
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: British, Scottish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Fresh local seafood and traditional Scottish fayre, all cooked and prepared by our talented local chef.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Late night service!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On a visit to the Gairloch area we arrived later than expected (about 20:30) and found it difficult to find anywhere to eat as it was off season. After trying a few hotels and restaurants with no success we headed to the Myrtle Bank Hotel on the recommendation of our B&B owner. We were told the chef had finished for the night but the man on duty prepared us a fantastic selection of made-to-order sandwiches with salads which were extremely tasty and great value. The staff went above and beyond for us and I was really impressed with the service and the quality of the food. Highly recommended.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RossC86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    67
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scotland. Tour”
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous place looking out to sea. Excellent food and staff very pleasant and accommodating. Not the cheapest but well worth it.

Would definitely return.

Room with a sea view is worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Restaurant with a view”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a modern hotel restaurant serving a good variety of often locally sourced food. It is well prepared and presented. They have a selection of Scottish real ales.

From the restaurant (on the seafront at Gairloch), you have stunning westerly views across to Skye and stunning sunsets.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jacky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Accommodated special request”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The chef provided an excellent vegan meal for me with no prior notice. It was very tasty, and much appreciated.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We went for lunch on a Sunday with our teens and were pleasantly surprised. We have not been for a long while and were not sure what to expect. The place was busy and the staff were friendly even although we were late comers at 2 pm. The food was well prepared (the lemon sole was just a bit overdone as the bones were falling apart) the boys demolished three courses and were stuffed for the rest of the day. The caramel merangine was great but the best was the Cranachan it was to die for and as someone (Scottish!!!) who does not like whiskey it was great. We will be back that's for sure.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grumpyclacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myrtle Bank Hotel also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Myrtle Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing