We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
bristol
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

We went for lunch after a long walk, they were more concerned with the coach party that was about to arrive, so service quite slow, we ordered Ploughmans, as there was none of the lovely local fish and shellfish dishes on the menu, which was one of the reasons we went there, the lettuce on the plate was awful, like out of a week old bag from the supermarket, but the Gamekeepers Pate was lovely as was the cheese, was a fair lunch, but just very disappointed as it advertised lovely local food but nothing on the menu,

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank erin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    112
    72
    28
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointment Repeated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Having eaten here a few years ago and been disappointed by the quality of both the service and the food, we decided to give it another go on Wednesday 25th July 2014. We found our own table as there was not a member of staff to greet diners. My husband was then told that there was no facility to put our drinks onto a running bill unless we left our bank card behind the bar. Was it assumed that we might leave without paying? My husband came back from the bar carrying our wine and a cooler himself. There were no staff available to bring it to the table for us. Our starters came very quickly and were the highlight of the evening, although not actually that outstanding. We then waited for almost an hour, watching the waiting staff arrive with meals that nobody seemed to have ordered, then wandering around, carrying the food, calling out in the hope of finding the hungry diners. We also witnessed other would be diners arrive and leave before even ordering as they picked up on how chaotic it all was. When we asked about our main courses they finally arrived, steaming hot, in such a way that reheat eating in a microwave produces. My husbands scallops were very overcooked and served with rubbery mushrooms, again a sign of having been microwaved. My hake was barely recognisable as fish and I needed to cut through it as you would a piece of non too tender meat. No member of staff appeared to ask if everything was satisfactory with our meal. As our plates were collected, we expressed our disappointment to the waitress who said we needed to speak to somebody with more seniority. Another waitress came and she did try to help by speaking to the chef and offering free deserts, which we declined as we had been thoroughly put off trying anything more. She was clearly embarrassed to be dealing with such a shambles and she did apologise profusely. We made our point about the system of paying for each course up front leaving no possibility of being given a reduction in the bill for a less than satisfactory meal. This changed nothing. The lack of any restaurant manager, any member of hotel staff on reception or, indeed, the presence of the owners, meant that there was nobody with whom we could discuss our concerns. I emailed the hotel that evening and have, as yet, heard nothing back. There seems to be nobody in control and, as such, it is all very shambolic. I would not recommend The Old Inn to anyone as a place to dine. The real ale is, however, well kept and the bar area is a reasonable place for a quick drink.

Helpful?
3 Thank DAISY21667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Must try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

When we booked we where told they where busy but didn't expect to wait an hour and thirty minuets for our main course the food had glimmers of being special I had the calamari for a starter and this was some of the best I have ever had however this is where it goes wrong after an hour we asked where our mains where to be told we thought you had them then to recive the fish and chips where so greasy you couldn't taste the fish others in the party's food was good but rushed because they forgot simply sort the service side out and this would be a charming place to eat

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbarrier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What's happened?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We have been here many times over the years and I'm sorry to say things seem to be going down hill every visit. This visit I ordered a ploughman's it was all delicious, game terrine, pickled veg, salad but served with disgusting pre sliced rubbery cheese of some sort.This is total madness when you can get delicious local cheese! Also the sandwiches now come on bog standard sliced bread which came brick hard. What has happened they used to come on lovely bread?

Helpful?
1 Thank katsey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My first review ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Well where do we start, this is my first review and I feel compelled to warn members of the appalling attitude of the owner, the incompetence of the staff, the quality of the food and the lack of availability of the beer as brewed on site in the funny little container/micro brewery in the car park. In short I would rather have gone to McDonald's and I stopped using them after supersize me was aired! Malvaig or badacrou at all costs!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Inn also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing