We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Drive & Dogs were allowed !”
Review of Melvaig Inn - CLOSED

Melvaig Inn
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Melvaig Inn, "an oasis in the middle of nowhere", serves up delicious food and amazing views.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the Drive & Dogs were allowed !”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Recommended by a friend, we took the windy road and reached just before sunset - the view from the restaurant is worth a mention - enjoyed an amazing sunset sitting on one of the comfy couches in front of the huge wood burner. The place itself is full of the owners collection of eclectic and interesting stuff - old records, books and pictures that with the pool table, juke box and darts board made it fun for the kids too. It's the real deal though not put together by some arty interior designer
Food was fantastic - scallops to die for, kids had steak and chicken which they enjoyed, luckily my son doesn't like mushrooms which were locally picked woodland mushrooms - sooo good .
Daniel the waiter was such a sweetie - as cute as he was helpful, nothing was a bother. An extra bonus - it was very reasonably priced.
Lastly as someone had put 'dogs not allowed' ours was she is small though so maybe it goes on size ?.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    49
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

2nd time in Gairloch and 2nd time in the Melvaig inn and it was just as good as id remembered. The food was just delicious and the staff are so friendly, even made my 8yr old daughter Langoustine even when it wasn't on the menu and it was delicious as i pinched one.
The Inn itself is lovely and the views are excellent well worth a visit if your up that far.
Will definitely be back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LizAFC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Unique! What a place!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Almost literally at the end of the road, this lovely big pub is a real surprise. The owner and staff were lovely, the open fires very welcome - and the decor fabulous. We would have loved to have had a meal there - the menu looked great. And just down from the Inn, as we gazed out over the Minch to the Outer Hebrides, along came an otter, frolicking in the water in front of us for a full 15 minutes!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank robinhenshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Fife
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fish to Die for”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

If you want a fancy restaurant (no dogs allowed) with immaculate speedy service then don't come here. Melvaig Inn at the end of a single track road from Gairloch is really laid back with a charming waiter who smilingly puts up with customer's changing their order but could bring the wrong wine. That isn't important - the setting is superb- the welcome warm and the food just excellent with really fresh seafood being the order of the day although there are plenty of meat options - venison, steak, etc. I can't wait to go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mackay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, great service!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We rocked up into Gairloch with no idea were to have lunch. We came across a sign for Melvaig Inn and thought why not? Lucky we did as I had a great sea food platter with Squat Lobster and Langoustines. They were local and very fresh. Beware the drive out is beautiful but a very windy road with sheer cliffs and the odd stray cow and sheep in the road. Prices were reasonable and the service great. At first we were the only ones in the Inn the so we had private service. Deffently worth the drive out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MyKombiandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melvaig Inn also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Melvaig, Scottish Highlands
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing