We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“highland break”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed November 18, 2008

food and entertaiment was very good ,could not fault it at all,the hotel is looking rather tired and could do with some decorating apart from this it was warm and comfortable.only one complaint
we had to be out of the hotel on the friday by 10am as the hotel was closeing for the weekend and our flight home was'nt until 5pm.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dolly-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 366 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2008

stayed at gairloch hotel or 3 nights sept 08, this is a magnificent building but i would say that as i adore the victorian period, but it is crying out for tlc. shearings need to spend money to upkeep this glorious hotel but as is refleceted in the cost of the holiday this is unlikley to happen. The area is great if you enjoy walking so many great views and things to explore ,flowredale falls, rui lighthouse, the pier, and many more. We are into astronmoy and the lack of light polution makes this superb. The hotel food is basic and the free bar is ok but it is far from a luxury hotel as is obviousley reflected in the price, we ate out at the old inn about half mile up from hotel, well known seafood pub, brill!! You must go to enjoy this wonderful coast of scotland and a visit to loch ewe ilicit distiliry is well worth it the lady there is brill.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank _ahUk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

Went for a week to the Gairloch Hotel with two canadian friends late April 2008, and would certainly recommend this Shearings Tour. For the price which included all travel, excursions, very good food and the bar at night, the value was outstanding. The room my wife and I shared was a little bit faded but perfectly adequate. The only downside was the first day which was all travel and we didn,t arrive until 8.30 in the evening. Needless to say within five minutes of arrival we we,re in the bar getting a refresher. All in all excellent value with the local scenery a added bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank HughSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Having been recommended to try a Shearings All Inclusive break we booked a long weekend at the Gairloch Hotel - self drive. It was a bit of a trek (11 hours) but well worth it. The setting is superb and we were blessed with wonderful weather - blue skies, sunshine but a nip in the air. The staff are friendly and make you feel welcome. We had decided that the food would be fairly basic considering the price we paid - £40 pppn All Inclusive - but it was really good with an excellent choice of menu which changed each evening. Lovely wine - Stowells - and the breakfast was good too (I can recommend the porridge).
The lunch pack was a little disappointing with just a drink, biscuit and piece of fruit but we really couldn't expect more for the price. We found out on the last day that we could have ordered sandwiches at £2 which we would have done if we had known we could. The rooms were clean, the bed comfy and the water always hot. Tea and coffee in the rooms and TV. The hotel is lived in - comfortable and relaxing in an old fashioned way. The quiet lounge was lovely with chairs and big settee's to sink into and look out at the wonderful views. Would highly recommend this hotel - thank you to all the staff for a wonderful break

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kathpasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

When we arrived at the hotel, it looked quite imposing, with all the brickwork pointed and looking pristine. Inside the decor was OK too, but there were a few places that looked like they might be next on the decorating schedule. It did look like there was a schedule though because it was evident that it was being maintained.

Booking was easy through the web, but they do take the money off your card straight away. I was self-drive and only had a choice of sea-view rooms, which did attract a little mark-up, but worth it I think because the view out of the back wasn't and the view out of the front was magnificent. Our room was comfortable, but the heating was on full blast, like the whole hotel. We turned off the heating and open the window throughout our stay (the midges hadn't woken up yet), something we couldn't do elsewhere in the hotel. The other rooms were, it seems allocated to coach parties, of which two arrived on our second day there and a third on the third and last day. Due, I think, to the time of the year the coach guests were elderly, but that didn't stop them from enjoying themselves in the evenings. The meal times were limited in start/finish time and choices but were OK, I thought. The staff throughout were always well turned out and very pleasant, with only one misinterpretation due to language.

So, if you're looking for a 'four star' hotel and restaurant (and prices), this isn't it, but you will get a four star stay, if it was anything like ours.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Tilt-scale-gyro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

Having enjoyed a great self drive all inclusive break with Shearings at Braemar we were keen to try another hotel and location. We could find no reviews for the Gairloch Hotel but decided to give it a go. So glad we did,the hotel is located in a beautiful part of Scotland overlooking the sea with Skye in the background.
We went with friends and had a wonderful time. The food was excellent and the staff very polite and friendly. After dinner we enjoyed the entertainment and had some great laughs. During the day we did some local walks, the scenery is superb and round every corner there is another wonderful view. We also drove through the Torridon Mountains which were covered in snow, totally awesome.
We will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dave159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jürgen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy S, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
179 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
296 reviews
8.9 mi away
Aultbea Hotel
Aultbea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aultbea
282 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Address: Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: $60 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing