We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just got back from another visit to Bay Gairloch. We had a fabulous time. The hotel, food and staff were all great. A special thanks to John for his help. The weather was great which was an added bonus. This time we decided not to go to Inverness and stayed in the locality. Had a great day. As usual the trip to Skye was great with an added bonus of stopping at Eilean Donan castle. It is iconic-you see a picture of Eilean Donan most often when Scotland is advertised. The trip to Applecross was fabulous-if you had to say there was a highlight of the trip that was probably it. The lobster sandwich at the Applecross Inn was great. Colin, the driver, was great. Don't fall for his jokes!-although they were funny. Would we go again? Absolutely! It is the one place that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank janet190800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, I have passed them onto the staff and Colin; my mouth is watering at the thought of the lobster sandwich. I know it will not be long until you retutn again to the Gairloch Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    86
    52
    34
    21
See reviews for
28
164
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Our first uk trip with Sheerings, arrived in time for our evening meal after a very long day. Our room was fine it was a good size and clean although a bit basic.we had upgraded to sea view which is worth doing.Nice size white towels which could be changed each day if requested and tea and coffee facilities. The food was basic but plentiful and the staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. The entertainment in the hotel was good but a bit repetitive. Not sure it was a good idea to go on our first trip of the week the next day after arrival, would of preferred a day of relaxation. Our driver was very knowledgeable and a good safe driver but we got a little fed up of hearing about his mates!!! We had a very enjoyable week and will certainly travel with Sheerings again.All in all it was good value.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LancashireJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am glad your first time with Shearings and your stay at the Gairloch Hotel was enjoyable and look forward to your next trip with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We selected this holiday as it was 50yrs since we were last up in the north west of Scotland and looked forward to a lovely journey up Loch Lomond through Glen Coe to Fort William and on up to Gairloch. How disappointing when we made the very long journey through central Scotland and up through the Cairngorms(nice but not what we expected) then on up to Inverness and then back west to get to Gairloch. Avery long and tiring journey 13.5hrs on a coach.Wont be doing it again.
Now we have arrived at the Hotel where we had asked for aground floor room, we were on the second floor! The hotel is in desperate need of a huge amount of money spending on it.
Our room was quite comfortable as regards beds and décor but the bathroom was back in the fortys with a nasty piece of linoleum on the floor which looked extremely grubby, there was no shower just a bath and the walls were wallpapered something I have never seen in my life(74yrs).
The dining room staff were charming very helpful efficient and the food was of a reasonable quality especially breakfasts.
The management on the other hand were not as charming and could well do with some hospitality training and a personality course transplant. Most of the time you were completely ignored when you spoke to them and they mostly walked around with long faces. Plus don't shout at the staff in front of guests as one person did.
In general we enjoyed our holiday very much but would not go on a coach trip again but would come up to the area by car making frequent stops in order to get there.
Finally our driver John who was extremely knowledgeable on the places he took us but could do with a happy chappy course on how to change his one tone voice to keep off the boredom.
It may seem that I am being ungreatfull to Shearings but we did meet some very nice people and will be keeping in touch with two of them so thanks Shearings

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxie321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us, I have passed your positive comments along to the staff. I agree with you about the long trek to to Gairloch, unfortunately, coming to us via the west coast route would make the journey even longer, however, I am glad you found it wortwhile and plan to return and hopefully make more new friends in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just back from our third visit to this hotel. The setting is fantastic, food plentiful and lots of choice. Disapointed we did not get Haggis but presume this was because of the Queens coronation celebration dinner we had. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Yes it is in need of some redecorating but our room was clean this didnot detract from our enjoyment. Hope to be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank holidaylovingnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pst your comment, it is always good to hear from a returning client, I am glad we were able to maintain the high standard you have become accustomed too at the Bay Gairloch Hotel and look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I would like to start with the positives..stunning location, helpful friendly and pleasant staff. Very efficient service.Great sea view from our room.
On the down side ...the room (301 ) needed some work..dark peeling wallpaper.. dirty toilet bowl on arrival.shower head didnt fit holder and shower screen sealed at bottom with masking tape so therefore water leaked all onto floor so couldnt have a shower.
Although this was a budget break( very reasonable price ) we didnt stay our 3rd night.
Come on Shearings..please sort out these basic standards.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank toppersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Firstly, can I thank you for your positive comments about our staff and location, and, secondly can I thank you for bringing to my attention the fault in the bathroom, please on your return if you come accross an item which is not to your satifaction make me aware so I can rectfy it, rather than you leaving not fully satified
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Self Drive, Welcoming was very pleasant and our upgraded superior sea view room was worth every penny, a relaxing break after touring for the previous week was ensured. hotel food was very basic but still value for money, the hotel was very quiet during the day after the coach parties had left on their excursions but we enjoyed the seaside walks and the nearby golf club supplied excellent lunches or afternoon teas. Driving to Ullapool on the coast route took us through beautiful scenery with the mountain tops full of a recent fall of snow and another short drive through the village to the lighthouse on a narrow road was an experience, unfortunately a stop at a hotel on route was closed.
Entertainment at the hotel was fine and the provision of the four drinks per person per day cards as part of the package was well appreciated

Room Tip: Sea Views a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill315968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, the drive along the coast to Ullapool is a personal favourite of mine aswell, I am sure you will return soon to continue your exploration of the West Highlands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been to Gairloch three times with Shearings one of the best locations for watching the dolphins from the hotel restaurant, friendly staff .Very good drivers, Cant wait to to go again.
Take a trip on the Westerbus tour around Applecross with Colin who will tell you all about Gairloch and the surrounding area,and its a fun day out

Room Tip: Get a sea view and look out for the dolphins in the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank warderone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the hotel, I will pass your comments on to the hotel staff and Colin the coach driver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
140 reviews
1.2 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
565 reviews
8.0 mi away
Loch Maree Hotel
Loch Maree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Talladale
179 reviews
16.8 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Property: Gairloch Hotel
Address: 9 Raonmor, Gairloch IV21 2BL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing