We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round value”
Review of Gairloch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gairloch Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here in July with Shearings holidays, all inclusive. Found hotel good, nothing to complain about at all. All staff, from Management, cleaning, waiting and bar staff, all excellent service. Lovely location, nice walks along to the harbour and waterfall. Stuart, are driver for the week was excellent as well. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank edgies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 376 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Hotel it's self was ok, however, the staff were excellent. Sea View were brillant. Food very poor very surprised to read other reviews commenting on the excellent food. We felt the food was very small portions, very surprised the breakfast was not the full scottish breakfast as the Hotel is in the Highlands. Breakfast was like cardboard on a tea plate. Menu Day 1 Chicken, no sauce or flavour, vegetables were over cooked. Day 2 Curry, very poor, Day 3 Sunday's Roast, beef very thin, veg were terrible. Rooms were ok, sorry to write a negitive comment, however I feel the food let the stay down.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank dudnoen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

This hotel is lovely staff all very nice could not do enough for you, food is excellent always nice and hot service very very good never had to wait we spent 5days at this hotel all inclusive bar staff good never had to wait this is our second visit 10 out of 10 for this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pat100445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Just returned from our first Shearings Holiday and what a fantastic time. The hotel was lovely with fantastic views although I do think it could do with a bit of a refurbishment in places. We must have returned a stone heavier as the food was wonderful and plentiful and the stafff go out of their way to help and the bar staff never stop smiling.
Our 'Numpty Bike Rider' tour driver John was a laugh a minute and what he didn't know about the area wasn't worth knowing.
I would recommend this holiday to anyone, if you want fantastic scenery, excellent food and a laugh a minute then this is for you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank JAH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

After a lengthy but wonderfully scenic journey (Loch Maree is beautiful!) we were pleased to arrive at such a picturesque hotel, with views across the bay to the Isle of Skye. The atmosphere was friendly, welcoming, and informal, and we felt very relaxed, like guests in a country home.The staff were very helpful and friendly, particularly the bar staff who were brilliant! The meals were excellent, (served in the delightfully light and airy dining room) with plenty of choice in each of the three courses for the evening meal. Wine, tea/coffee too! (Helpful to have the day's menu posted up so you had time to think about what you might have that evening!) Lots of options for breakfasts too, which were big enough to keep you going for hours! Beautifully cooked as well. Also, nice to come back from an excursion to find tea, coffee and biscuits laid on to help yourself to in the lounge. Evening entertainment was jolly, with something to please everybody, be it music, (guitar, keyboard, accordion etc.) comedy,or even a bit of magic! Fun to join in the dancing too! The hotel's setting was wonderful, with sea and mountain views (Torridons), sandy beach and shoreline walks. Lots of gorse out, when we were there, which looked very pretty. The village, and Folk museum were only about 10 minutes walk to the right (as you exit the hotel) and the harbour (where you could take boat trips, buy gifts in the little shop, have a cuppa in the cafe etc.) was about 15-20mins walk along the road to the left of the hotel. You could access the small beach, straight across the road from the hotel, by walking down some steps, or the main Gairloch Beach (beautiful stretch of sand) via the wooded path alongside the golf course, or via the harbour. On the opposite side of the road to the harbour entrance, is a turning to Flowerdale, where you can walk through woodland up to a waterfall, which is about a mile and a half away. Our room was comfortable and had everything we needed. We found the whole holiday was fantastic value for the money. It was the first time we've been on a Shearings Holiday and we'll certainly go again. The coach was comfortable, and the excursions were great (Shieldaig, Inverness, Ullapool). Martin the driver was so helpful, patient and informative, throughout our holiday, as was John on the trip through the Torridons to Shieldaig. We never felt rushed. Beautiful area, very relaxing, wonderful time. Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Cuckoobird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Arrived at this Impressive looking hotel but the room we were given was very disappointing - The room had no heating apart from small convector heater which was not powerful enough for this size of room plus the bath was stained and had no shower or attachment. The wallpaper was pealing from the walls in the bathroom.
The hotel was in a beautiful location.
The one great thing about this hotel is the staff - they were superb.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank shinerBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of your stay with us, I am sorry to hear of your dissapointment, we take on board all comments and try to rectify them as soon as possible. i hope your stay with us will not stop you returning in the future, as I am sure you will agree the natural beauty and scenery of the area is well worth the visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

location - excellent
rooms - excellent
hotel - excellent
service - a tad slow

however, I would recommend this Shearings hotel - 9 out of 10

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KatiecooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TonyThomas2012, Manager at Gairloch Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the hotel and the area, I have taken note of your comment regarding the service being a little slow, this has now been sorted. I look forward to welcoming you back to the gairloch Hotel in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gairloch
2.2 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gairloch Highland Lodge
Gairloch Highland Lodge
#3 of 5 in Gairloch
160 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Millcroft
The Millcroft
#4 of 5 in Gairloch
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.6 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
633 reviews
4.3 mi away
Poolewe Hotel
Poolewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Poolewe
221 reviews
16.5 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gairloch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gairloch Hotel

Address: Gairloch IV21 2DG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Gairloch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Gairloch
Price Range: $75 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gairloch Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restful, beautiful and brimming with Highland hospitality, the tastefully appointed Gairloch Hotel stands in a superb location. This charming hotel, built in 1872, is just minutes from the beach and boasts stunning views to the Western Isles from the public areas. The hotel has recently had a number of rooms updated to Superior and Premier status for those who wish to match the impressive backdrop with a more luxurious stay. Enjoy dining in the recently refurbished restaurant before settling down to an evening of great entertainment in the Grand Lounge and entertainment room which has also been tastefully updated. The hotel is situated at the centre point of Gairloch Bay, giving wonderful panoramic views out to the Isle of Skye and it lies in a landscape rich in wildlife with unspoilt shores, lochs and mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gairloch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gairloch Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing