We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and great value!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place and great value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at The White Hart using a Groupon promotion so did receive a discount on the usual price. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would most definitely return.

The pub/ restaurant area of the hotel looks newly refurbished and is modern and very comfortable. The whole place has a really relaxed feel. I think the decking area at the back of the pub may be a recent addition and this was a lovely place to sit and have a drink.

Our room was very large and had a super king size bed. Our bathroom was also lovely and it had a free standing bath which was very comfortable and relaxing.

There were a couple of minor issues with the room such as a very small leak to the towel rail and not all of the light bulbs worked but this did not effect our stay and we simply mentioned it on check out so that it could be looked at before future guests stayed.

We had a delicious meal in the pub in the evening. I had some lovely fish cakes with a chilli mayonaise and my husband had some South African sausages which were a major hit with him. For main course I had surf and turf which was beautifully cooked and just melted in my mouth. My husband had a burger which was absolutely huge. The sticky toffee pudding is also beautiful.

For breakfast there was a buffet of hot food with all the usual cooked breakfast items. Toast and tea was brought to our table. THere was also a selection of cereals and a lovely home made fruit salad.

All of the staff at the hotel were very polite and chatty which made our stay very relaxed. We would definitely return and thank The White Hart for a relaxing night away! xxx

Room Tip: We stayed in Caramel room and it was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    204
    59
    27
    8
See reviews for
39
384
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spend two nights at the White Hart on a Groupon voucher deal, the hotel is on a very busy main road situated in a small village near Henley on Thames, we stayed in the Mulberry room situated in the courtyard at the back of the hotel, it is a ground floor twin room, being at the back of the hotel it is a quiet room away from the noise of the traffic, the room is quite small but very comfortable with twin beds, the ensuite bathroom has a wet room type shower arrangement, personally I found it quite slippery, it could do with a rubber bath mat, no bath, plenty of towels and shower gel etc, wfii costs,about £3 for 24 hours, but it does not work, you have to ask at reception for a key which they put in for you, I tried three times but it never worked gave up eventually. There is a large TV on the wall, the picture broke up a few times whilst we were there but we were told that this was unusal and would be attended to.Outside the room is the hotel patio area which is very pleasant, the furniture is excellent and it makes a nice area to sit with food or a drink ( the Mulberry room does tend to be on the dark side as the windows are small) The deal we purchased included a bottle of Champagne ( very nice too in a bucket of ice on our arrival waiting in our room) and one evening meal, also breakfast. The evening meal was quite good, well presented and enjoyable, buffet breakfast though was rather a disapointment, cearls, some rather tired fruit and a hot plate of cooked bacon, sausages,tomatoes, mushrooms and bacon all fried and which all looked rather greasy, eggs and toast were available on request, you served yourself to tea, coffee and fruit juice.
The area itself is delightful, Henley on Thames is beautiful, not a large town and very busy, lovely walks along the river, a beautiful Church near the river, very peaceful and tranquil place on a hot day. Maidenhead well worth a visit especially the Hertitage centre upstairs there is an excellent museum dedicated to the ATV pilots of WW2 , they have a simulated spitfire flight there ( you have to book their website is on the Net) which my Husband throughly enjoyed, the Heritatge centre too has an exhibition on the history of the area which is very interesting
Wallingford is a small town close to Nettlebed, quaint, lots of antiuque shops, beautiful large square in the middle of the town surrounded by a few shops and cafes, quiet pleasant spot. Nettlebed itself is a small village, couple of shops, post office, the one hotel, nice walks around there but we were not there long enough to try any of them out, but it is on a very busy road.
We enjoyed our visit, the staff were very welcoming, I did feel however that the place was very dusty and grubby in parts probably down to the pollution from the road outside

Room Tip: Mulberry is a ground floor twin room, very quiet, away from the noise of the road traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ena193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for the night whilst travelling further down south as thought it would be a good place to stop off being a five minute drive from Henley on Thames.

It was a lovely little pub, our room was really pleasant and clean in a characterful building.

Breakfast also really good.

Reasonable price and friendly helpful staff.

Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the White Hart and were lucky enough to be upgraded to their best room - which was a real treat.
It was clean, luxurious, contemporary and we wished we could have stayed longer.
We ate in the restaurant and both the attention of the staff and quality of the food were exceptional.
The South African themed menu gave us the chance to try some new ideas in food and cooking and we were not disappointed - perticularly the Hout Salad starter.
We would thoroughly recommend this establishment and would look forward to staying again.

Room Tip: I imagine that all the rooms are very good so no need to worry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WobblyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk england
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I used this hotel whilst we were at the Henley regatta. Its only around 5 miles taxi ride away, but be prepared for a long ride as the traffic is bad on the days the event is on.
The hotel itself is great, with loads of rustic charm and character. The staff also are very friendly and will look after your every need and always with a smile. We ate in their restaurant both nights of our stay for sheer ease of it and both nights the food was of good quality and the same could be said for the breakfasts as well.
There is ample parking available to the side and rear of the hotel so no worries with parking.
The only slight issue I had with the hotel ( and this is mainly down to me being a light sleeper) was that on returning to our room the first night, we found the room to be stiflingly hot so opened all the remaining windows to let cooler air in. This resulted much louder traffic noise entering the room from the road right outside, which didn't seem to slow all that much all night. The second day I made sure to leave most of the windows open to keep the room cool and on our return, we were able to close all windows which resulted in a lot less traffic noise being heard and a more restful sleep. Again I will point out that I'm a light sleeper, but if you are the same, perhaps asking for a room at the rear of the hotel may help matters.
On the whole though, a great hotel and would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rf0lk_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

An idea hotel for young couples, trying to escape, or old couples, rekindling their friendship, not for the hi-viz brigade, although, ive paid more for less! The food was really good and well presented, the rooms well decorated and modern, the only problem was if you are over 5ft in the Butterscotch room, I think, you only get your shoulders wet in the shower!
Well worth its AA 4 stars

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We did groupon voucher which was good deal for 2 night and dinner on evening with wine , lot's of parking, the room was very nice with a shower and big bath only down side was the road and path side our bedroom window the road never stop you need ear pug's ! good food breakfast was fine we use the next day to go into london 1 hour on the train

Room Tip: ask for room at the back on the rroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 06angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.9 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing