We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exceptional weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“exceptional weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the white hart. Could not fault the staff for their proffesionalism and swift solution after a mix up with our booking. Room was exceptional- immaculately clean and well maintained. Staff went out of their way to be helpful throughout our stay. Meals were amazing, especially the steaks! whatever the secret glaze is- it is simply sublime, never tasted anything so delicious and the steaks so tender. The white hart provides a welcome and relaxed stay in a beautiful setting, peaceful and well run. The food menu and wine list offer the guest a wide choice and portions are indeed hearty. Perfectly located for a day in Henley or, a little further- London. Would certainly reccomend and return to this fantastic pub.

Room Tip: the superior rooms are seperated from the main bar and restaurant and give the guest their own "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    215
    62
    28
    8
See reviews for
42
405
7
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We visit the Reading Area frequently due to family and personal connections. We have
stayed in numerous hotels and are seasoned visitors. We visited the White Hart at Nettlebed
early August 2012 as a couple 50's (lower end off !) for an one nights stay.

We could not recommend a stay more highly. We stayed in a delightfull double room
in an annex at the rear which is well presented, spotless and quiet. Our breakfast was
exactly right served with an INTELLIGENT caring smile. We paid £65 total inc. full
English breakfast.

The immediate area around is ideal for an evening stroll - visit the church and the 'arts and crafts' village hall, say hello to the Flemmings in the graveyard - (as in 007 fame family)
Henley on Thames is 7 mins in car, London 3/4 hour I guess.

All round 5 stars - we will skip the others we used to stay at in future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralheatking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel and bar area look very attractive and we had a pleasant evening meal there. However our room - Blackcurrant, was one of the most unpleasant rooms I have ever stayed in. Cramped, dusty and featureless. The sloping sides to the room meant we were constantly bumping our heads. There was no chair although to be fair the room was too small to fit one in. We were attending a wedding and the only way I could dry my hair was to kneel on the floor outside the bathroom door in the darkest bit of an already dark room. Stains on the throw on the bed and windows which did not lock. They probably think the bathroom should add a wow factor to the dismal bedroom by incorporating a large freestanding bath. But there's only a small shower attachment with nowhere to store shampoo etc. Radiator didn't work and the room was cold. Sink was 'slimy' and the toilet was disgraceful! The toilet brush must be a health hazard. Cigarette ends on the stairs leading up to the room. The quality of food at breakfast was good but organisation was haphazard. No jams or condiments offered on first day and the platter of fresh fruit looked like leftovers. Cereal on offer was an open bowl of cornflakes. We booked well in advance and so paid the full price for our very basic double room - not worth it. I would have preferred a Travelodge where at least the room would have been clean and functional. Most of the satisfied reviews seem to indicate that they had booked late and paid considerably less than we did for a bigger room. Something wrong here. None of the official photos show a room similar to ours and it's easy to see why. It wouldn't take much to sort - retrain the housekeeper and cleaning staff, employ a maintenance person and get rid of the MDF appearance of these rooms. A picture would be nice!

Room Tip: If booking a double room ask if it's in the roof space and avoid if over 5ft tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaysla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Manager greeted us after 10pm, showed us our wondeful room and even sorted out a late supper. She couldn't be more helpful.
Room was super with a bath in the room and then we had a very hearty breakfast.
Definitely stay there again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_J_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed in the white hart last week for a couple of nights and was really happy with my experience. The room was very presentable (it had been refurbished recently). The food was pretty good, I had an evening meal which was really nice, but for breakfasts I only ate toast, but the other dishes looked good.

The best thing about my stay was the service, which was first class, i was very impressed with it and would definitely stay here again. It was a really nice location.

The only negative point was that on the first night, i was distubred a lot by the front door slamming, but some rubber stoppers would stop this from happening.

Thanks to all at the white hart, i will be seeing you again no doubt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is a really well decorated hotel,newly re-furnished. We stayed here as a wedding party and booked out nearly the whole hotel. The restaurant was very good, and the rooms very comfortable. Some of the negative points were the disorganised staff, failure to clean the rooms in between nights, no WIFI. The staff gave no thought to putting a very elderly couple in the group a room at the top of some metal stairs with no shower room and a bath that was difficult to get into and was unsafe for anyone with disabilities. The taxi s that had been booked to get us to the wedding also failed to arrive causing some panic.All in all a lovely hotel with some administrative shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surreytraveller346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hi,
we have stayed in many hotels across the globe and always try to write a review as well always use trip adviser before we book,
we checked the white hart and it seemed nice,
Firstly the good points,
very nice hotel, good rooms clean with all the usual in them ,
clean towels nice bathroom,
nice helpful staff behind bar (hotel attached to a Bar)
great food very tasty good portion , cooked fresh as you require,
good car park quite well lit,
Bad points
Wifi does NOT work anywhere but in front of the bar about 5 feet away,
basic maintenance needed !
window locks loose, chipped sink ,dust & candle wax all over window seals in restaurant;
no inside lock on your bedroom
safe was tiny, fit your wallet in it , and it was bolted to plaster board so one good whack and its off holes in the walls, basic stuff that should be fixed, it lets down what a really nice place this is
and lastly,
more importantley,

The really GRUMPY blonde with the tracksuit bottoms on (cleaner i think, she had cleaning materials), in and around the restaurant in the morning, put a whole dampener on the role experiance,


We would go bad because the whole place was really nice and we enjoyed our stay, its just a shame these little things are there to ruin it,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nettlebed
8.9 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dorchester-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
10.7 mi away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
4.6 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: High Street, Nettlebed RG9 5DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Nettlebed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nettlebed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the pretty village of Nettlebed and close to Henley on Thames and Marlow, The White Hart is a stylish and comfortable country inn that dates back to the 14th century and still retains a traditional charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel Nettlebed, Oxfordshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing