We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed family campsite”
Review of Britchcombe Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Uffington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Britchcombe Farm
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxed family campsite”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have just got back from spending two nights at Britchcombe Farm with two friends. Although the weather was pretty dire, the staff were more than helpful and made our stay a pleasant one.

On arrival, the lady in reception was very helpful and pointed us towards our field, allowing us to choose a spot of our own. Her dry sense of humour was wonderful - just a shame some other reviewers seem to have a sense of humour meltdown. The toilet facilities were close by, and consisted of well-serviced portaloos and a shower block near the main farm building.

As always with camping, there were one or two noisy groups but this noise generally didn't go on past midnight and didn't bother us one bit. Who goes camping and is tucked up in bed by 9pm?

The log man comes around twice an evening, and gives you a fairly small bag of logs for £5, plus a minuscule amount of kindling which is what has lost this review its one star. The logs were definitely not seasoned properly, resulting in an enormous amount of smoke when burned. I wasn't surprised to see at least three other groups smuggle their own logs onto the site!

All in all, a lovely relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roguerrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
25
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The campsite is in a fantastic location, incredibly beautiful and nicely suited for a short drive into Abingdon. We had booked up for two nigts, and stayed one.

There are porter loos, but to be honest I have never nearly thrown up so hard from smell before and I frequently go to large mainstream heavy festivals - at least festival toilets are cleaned every 6 or so hours! - These most certainly were not cleaned for at least 24 and that long in the long leaves a very experience.

The camp site is great for children, but really there should be a "Family field" and a "quiet field". I spent most of my days keeping a close eye on our cars to make sure they were not getting hit by balls and on morning one being woken by screaming children at 8am.

I wouldn't say this was the most welcoming camp site - a walk from our field back down to the main threw road take us past an electrical fence and guard dogs in place to prevent anybody stealing wood (Whilst you can agree with it, it is not a "Relaxing" thing to come across.

Wood is sold for £5 a bad, and the rules as to why you can't burn your own are ridiculous (Sparks from wood may cause tents to catch fire). You always feel like you are being rinsed of your money when it comes to fire wood!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet field
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matt k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Intended to spend 2 nights camping here. Arrived and checked in at the farm, received what was probably supposed to be helpful advice but came across as a condescending lecture from the owner, a do's and don'ts sheet (fairly standard stuff) and were directed to a field which varied from mildly to ridiculously sloping. That was ok though.

The wood man delivering firewood was good, would need two bags to keep a fire going for a whole evening.

Our field had a row of 6 loos, and we didn't see them get emptied at all. They were ok when we arrived and got dirtier and smellier. Was expecting better.

Our major problem was how busy the field got. With a family with about 10 kids one side, 5 the other, and the same again just opposite, it was loud and shrieking the whole time, being kept awake until the early hours and woken again at about 6, this did not fulfil our hopes for a peaceful couple of days away. I think the owner should have a designated quiet field if she doesn't want to enforce the 'no noise after 10.30' rule.

The Fox and Hound in Uffington is the most amazing little pub, nicest pub food I've ever eaten, and warmest reception I've ever received (having been caught in a massive downpour whilst walking there and arriving to drip all over the floor, they were very sympathetic). I think next time we'll just stay in their B&B!

We gave up and left after one night, as the rain became torrential, we got soaked 3 times, and couldn't face another night with no sleep, so we left.

It's a shame as it is a lovely pretty site, and a designated quiet field would have solved all of our issues.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed for three nights with two other families: 6 adults and 8 children in all. It was a very, very rainy weekend which probably kept people away. Consequently the site wasn't busy and there was lots of space and the facilities were not under much pressure.

The campsite has an unusual layout. It is made up of self-contained fields on both sides of a quiet B-road, stretched out over perhaps a quarter of a mile. Each field has an abundance of clean, well-maintained portaloos; ours also had a water tap. Most of the fields slope to some degree - some areas are quite steep, but we found a pretty flat patch. The farm, in the middle of the site, has a shower block with a handful of showers. The showers were spacious with loads of hooks and ample hot water. There is a tea room at the farm that is open in the afternoon for cream teas. We didn't try it.

The location is fantastic, scenery gorgeous. It's a short (steep) walk up to the White Horse and Iron-Age hill fort or you can drive up to the National Trust car park. The whole area is threaded with footpaths, including the famous Ridgeway.

We chose this site for the campfires, and I'm glad we did. Wood is delivered by a man in a Landrover between 4pm and 9pm - £5 a bag with kindling included. Two bags were sufficient to keep a good fire burning 6-10pm. We cooked over the campfire on two of the three nights.

Local pubs are excellent. The White Horse and the Blowing Stone, both within a couple of miles, served excellent food with very friendly staff.

We loved it and will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urban_Winter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

This campsite and one night stay was the most awful thing I have ever had to do. The people we were camping with were all very nice. We found that the most intolerable man (that delivered a very small sack of wet wood - for £5) totally ruined everyone's stay. We were treated like naughty children (he kept checking on us every ten minutes - which gives creepy feelings of being watched by strange man with binoculars). The children were not allowed to make any noise or play anywhere. This man is very confrontational and just threatens to call the police if you answer him back. Very poor facilities. Only go if you are prepared to be moaned at constantly - would never go back to this site. To keep a fire going all night would cost well in excess of £50.

Room Tip: Avoid the place it is full of attitude!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stillrecovering623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Lovely relaxed atmosphere-no huge lists of do's and dont's or pressure on leaving on your departure date, and they allow open fires with the farmer selling you logs for them from the back of an old landy. Facilities a bit basic with only 2 showers & one washing up point at the farm, which is a fair hike from some of the camping fields. A lot of the fields are reasonably sloping as well, so can be difficult to find a level pitch when busy. Minor gripes though-the beautiful setting and laid back atmosphere more than make u.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

A huge campsite. Very basic in that there are portaloos in the fields which are well stocked with paper towels and loo roll and very clean though not to everyones liking!
The showers are ok but the hot water doesn't last long but when doesn't this happen when camping?

The setting is beautiful, at the base of the white horse and amongst woodland and the wonderful Oxfordshire countryside. It's a great base for walkers or families who want LOTS of space.

My only problem was that the large group of oiks camping behind us were foul mouthed, abusive and basically horrible. The noise cut off time is meant to be 2230 but there were no checks and it took a call to the management to get them to ask the crowd to keep the noise down. It continued as soon as said management were out of sight though and they weren't asked again. This really did spoil things for us.

I understand that this has been a problem for quite a few visitors at the farm so make sure you try to stay away from large groups of BMW driving chavs.

Apart from that I can't fault the place. It's as basic as they come but for £7 a night it's great and the owners are so helpful and friendly.

PS- get the pancakes in the morning and a mug of tea.

Ross

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onionbag124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uffington
2.5 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
166 reviews
5.3 mi away
Sudbury House
Sudbury House
#1 of 4 in Faringdon
327 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox and Hounds
#1 of 3 in Uffington
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britchcombe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britchcombe Farm

Property: Britchcombe Farm
Address: Britchcombe Farm Faringdon, Uffington SN7 7QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Uffington
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Uffington
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within walking distance of the White Horse Hill with its magnificent views and historic myths, Britchcombe Farm has been enjoyed by thousands of campers for more than 10 years - many of who came back year after year.Enjoy a delicious cream tea in our tea rooms, a roaring log fire in the evening or just relax and rewind in the unspoilt Oxfordshire countryside, our camp site is the perfect retreat for anyone looking to experience the this fabulous part of the country. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Britchcombe Farm Hotel Uffington
Britchcombe Farm Uffington, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing