We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night away”
Review of The Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Schooner Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 3, 2014

came for one night to relax... staff were really friendly,, how ever the room wasnt very clean,, we told the staff that we had found remains of drugs in the bedside cabnet, they didnt seem to bothered and nothing was done about this.. the food was fine,, parking is a problem also.. its just a shame the room wasnt clean might of been a better weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 440 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a meal here from the normal menu and couldn't fault it,I had for a starter coujon and my wife bruschetta and they were very enjoyable,for mains I had gammon and all the trimmings inc egg,pineapple chips and peas.the service was good and quick,could fault it and at a good price.

Room Tip: Didn't stay here but probably would if the evening food was anything to judge the place from
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank handysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the schooner for a night for the Ghost hunt experience, firstly the Inn ,are room was comfortable and taking into account how old the Inn is it was in quite good condition. we had a meal and and chatted to the very friendly staff as we waited for the ghost hunt to start. the hunt was done by a team called spooky nights all the team were friendly and were knowledge able, we started with a couple of group games to relax everyone then we did the pendulum crystals which were good, we split into teams and we went into the cellar, two of the haunted rooms and we did table tipping and ouija board the board was fab, I would definitely do the hunt again, my only criticism would be I would have liked more time searching the corridors and rooms rather than some of the games at the beginning as I felt we spent to much time doing that but never the less a fab visit and would like to thank both the staff at the schooner and the spooky nights team for a great night it was value for money all round.

Room Tip: If going for the ghost hunt book into one of the haunted rooms it helps the experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jgkjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Found no bumps in the night but staff were extremely friendly rooms were immaculate and very well decorated parking was a bit of a problem had to park down the street 200 metres away food was very good and reasonably priced

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

i have stayed twice now at this hotel where i have found the staff very friendly and the rooms very clean,i booked for myself and two friends to stay over and join in the ghosthunt after hearing from others about the hotel.upon meeting the spooky nightz team i found them very friendly and they explained to us about the hotels past and talked us threw what things we would be doing throughout the night,we were placed with a leader and tried ouija boards,calling out and crystals,we enjoyed our night that much we booked again and will be booking to go with spooky nightz more often,for anyone that does not belive please dont knock it untill you try it. thank you spooky nightz team and schooner hotel

Room Tip: room 28,29 and 30 are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Modern comfy room, friendly staff, impeccably clean...but just not very atmospheric, especially given that it dates from the 1600s. And be warned: if you stay on a Saturday night you may be kept awake by groups of "ghost hunters" running around the entire hotel searching for spectres - the walls are thin, you'll hear every word they mutter as they try to scare eachother...also really sorry to say that despite the friendly staff, the full English breakfast was far from the best I've had...

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We visited the Schooner in July 2012 for a Spooky Hen Weekend and when looking for a Christmas night out, we decided that we couldn't face yet another year sat in a hotel function room, eating luke warm Christmas Fayre that no one really enjoys, paying £40 for the privilege so we decided to have a Christmas Spooky Night instead.

The cost of staying overnight plus ghost hunt was £59 per person and once again we requested rooms 28 and 29 again as these are allegedly the most haunted rooms. On our previous visit to the Schooner we had a 'ghost hunt' especially for us with the old resident ghost hunter Ray Boker's sidekick, Diane Pepper however Ray Bokor is no longer affiliated with the Schooner and we were told our night would be covered by a lady called Gail Ward. On checking the Schooner website a little nearer to the date of our visit we discovered Spooky Nightz Ghost Hunting team would be our ghost hunters for the evening.....after a quick phonecall we were told we would have our own ghost hunter which we were pleased about.

The Schooner has changed a little since our last visit....our rooms, 28 and 29 were the same barring a new wardrobe in room 28. The roller blind in the loo was gone and had been replaced with a venetian blind which was stuck in one position (open) and had seen better days but overall, the rooms were nice and clean. You will see lots of complaints on here about the state of the hotel, that its rundown, tatty blah blah blah.....this place is hundreds of years old, more than likely a huge money pit for the owners.....if it was top notch luxury, it wouldn't be half as spooky feeling as it is! It is all part of the 'charm' of the place....if you want luxury, you aren't going to find it here but if you aren't overly fussy you will enjoy your stay.

Check-in was efficient and quick, our rooms were cold due to windows being open but soon warmed up when windows were closed and heaters were switched on. We were told to go downstairs at 8pm for our ghost hunt, however around 6.30pm there was a knock on the door from the ghost hunting team who introduced themselves and announced that the night actually started at 9pm but to be down in the bar for 8.30pm.

There was 19 of us doing the ghost hunt made up of ourselves, a group of 3 friends and several couples and I believe a team of 5 ghost hunters. First stop was the conservatory where they did a couple of 'experiments' which wasted probably an hour (literally) and then we were split up into groups....our group of 6 were put together with a group of 3 women and we went up to our room (28) to do the ouija board. Last year this was amazing with several personal messages but this time we didn't get this and several of our own group were excluded from the activity as the other 3 women were taking part.....basically the group was too big and when it went to a break at 11pm, we asked if we could stay as just our group of 6 which was agreed.

We had hoped to return to the ouija board however we ended up table tipping instead which was pretty impressive and it was suggested we try ouija board elsewhere which we were all up for but ended up down in the cellar first which I found really scary. Afterwards we didn't return to our room or even our 2nd room (29) we went to the landing by room 23 where absolutely nothing happened and with about 15 mins to spare before the end we had a go with crystals (no chance to do the mirror scribing set up in a room which was also a little disappointing).

We were all a little disappointed to find that everyone else had spent the rest of the night in our rooms whilst we seemed to go thru' the motions but doing actually doing very little.....as some of the other group members were staying in rooms 30 and 17 (also linked to paranormal activities) it would have been nice if we could have used their rooms too, returning the favour of using our rooms or even going into other empty rooms.

Ghost hunt finished just after 1pm and we returned to our rooms....took loads of photos and orb activity was out of this world!!!!!! Freaked us out a bit! No spooky goings on after lights out but by hell the pillows were hard!

Breakfast hot, plentiful and tasty....no grumbles at all.

Will return one day possibly but will try somewhere like Chillingham Castle next time I think.

If you were staying in room 18 on Saturday 30 November.........sorry!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 28, 29 and 30 were all one room at one point in time....they reckon room 28 is most haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iwannaliveincalabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
3.3 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,076 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#21 of 69 in Alnwick
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooner Hotel

Address: 8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range: $90 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schooner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel
Alnmouth Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing