We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so haunted but friendly staff”
Review of The Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Schooner Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Castleford, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“not so haunted but friendly staff”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Found no bumps in the night but staff were extremely friendly rooms were immaculate and very well decorated parking was a bit of a problem had to park down the street 200 metres away food was very good and reasonably priced

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    104
    60
    50
    106
See reviews for
78
172
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

i have stayed twice now at this hotel where i have found the staff very friendly and the rooms very clean,i booked for myself and two friends to stay over and join in the ghosthunt after hearing from others about the hotel.upon meeting the spooky nightz team i found them very friendly and they explained to us about the hotels past and talked us threw what things we would be doing throughout the night,we were placed with a leader and tried ouija boards,calling out and crystals,we enjoyed our night that much we booked again and will be booking to go with spooky nightz more often,for anyone that does not belive please dont knock it untill you try it. thank you spooky nightz team and schooner hotel

Room Tip: room 28,29 and 30 are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Modern comfy room, friendly staff, impeccably clean...but just not very atmospheric, especially given that it dates from the 1600s. And be warned: if you stay on a Saturday night you may be kept awake by groups of "ghost hunters" running around the entire hotel searching for spectres - the walls are thin, you'll hear every word they mutter as they try to scare eachother...also really sorry to say that despite the friendly staff, the full English breakfast was far from the best I've had...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MjGSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We visited the Schooner in July 2012 for a Spooky Hen Weekend and when looking for a Christmas night out, we decided that we couldn't face yet another year sat in a hotel function room, eating luke warm Christmas Fayre that no one really enjoys, paying £40 for the privilege so we decided to have a Christmas Spooky Night instead.

The cost of staying overnight plus ghost hunt was £59 per person and once again we requested rooms 28 and 29 again as these are allegedly the most haunted rooms. On our previous visit to the Schooner we had a 'ghost hunt' especially for us with the old resident ghost hunter Ray Boker's sidekick, Diane Pepper however Ray Bokor is no longer affiliated with the Schooner and we were told our night would be covered by a lady called Gail Ward. On checking the Schooner website a little nearer to the date of our visit we discovered Spooky Nightz Ghost Hunting team would be our ghost hunters for the evening.....after a quick phonecall we were told we would have our own ghost hunter which we were pleased about.

The Schooner has changed a little since our last visit....our rooms, 28 and 29 were the same barring a new wardrobe in room 28. The roller blind in the loo was gone and had been replaced with a venetian blind which was stuck in one position (open) and had seen better days but overall, the rooms were nice and clean. You will see lots of complaints on here about the state of the hotel, that its rundown, tatty blah blah blah.....this place is hundreds of years old, more than likely a huge money pit for the owners.....if it was top notch luxury, it wouldn't be half as spooky feeling as it is! It is all part of the 'charm' of the place....if you want luxury, you aren't going to find it here but if you aren't overly fussy you will enjoy your stay.

Check-in was efficient and quick, our rooms were cold due to windows being open but soon warmed up when windows were closed and heaters were switched on. We were told to go downstairs at 8pm for our ghost hunt, however around 6.30pm there was a knock on the door from the ghost hunting team who introduced themselves and announced that the night actually started at 9pm but to be down in the bar for 8.30pm.

There was 19 of us doing the ghost hunt made up of ourselves, a group of 3 friends and several couples and I believe a team of 5 ghost hunters. First stop was the conservatory where they did a couple of 'experiments' which wasted probably an hour (literally) and then we were split up into groups....our group of 6 were put together with a group of 3 women and we went up to our room (28) to do the ouija board. Last year this was amazing with several personal messages but this time we didn't get this and several of our own group were excluded from the activity as the other 3 women were taking part.....basically the group was too big and when it went to a break at 11pm, we asked if we could stay as just our group of 6 which was agreed.

We had hoped to return to the ouija board however we ended up table tipping instead which was pretty impressive and it was suggested we try ouija board elsewhere which we were all up for but ended up down in the cellar first which I found really scary. Afterwards we didn't return to our room or even our 2nd room (29) we went to the landing by room 23 where absolutely nothing happened and with about 15 mins to spare before the end we had a go with crystals (no chance to do the mirror scribing set up in a room which was also a little disappointing).

We were all a little disappointed to find that everyone else had spent the rest of the night in our rooms whilst we seemed to go thru' the motions but doing actually doing very little.....as some of the other group members were staying in rooms 30 and 17 (also linked to paranormal activities) it would have been nice if we could have used their rooms too, returning the favour of using our rooms or even going into other empty rooms.

Ghost hunt finished just after 1pm and we returned to our rooms....took loads of photos and orb activity was out of this world!!!!!! Freaked us out a bit! No spooky goings on after lights out but by hell the pillows were hard!

Breakfast hot, plentiful and tasty....no grumbles at all.

Will return one day possibly but will try somewhere like Chillingham Castle next time I think.

If you were staying in room 18 on Saturday 30 November.........sorry!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 28, 29 and 30 were all one room at one point in time....they reckon room 28 is most haunted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iwannaliveincalabona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Me and two friends stayed here for Halloween due to it's spooky reputation. We were disappointed we didn't get to stay in the most haunted room but oh well! on arrival was checked in by a young girl who seemed a bit miserable. The hotel is very dated and freezing cold in the corridors and a very old musty smell throughout but I think it adds to its creepy charm. The room was ok, nothing spesh but the bed was comfortable enough! We didn't have any ghostly visits but someone did knock on our door at 3am, prob another guest messing about. All in all I really enjoyed my stay, it was good fun wandering around at night. A bit of a novelty hotel really. If you're interested in the paranormal, I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed here several times got a good atmospher always found room s clean
we actually stayed here Christmas Eve and Christmas Day had a great time staff where really helpful
when we left we did ask how many were over our side of the hotel and were told we were the only couple....oh dear that does not explain the footsteps and noises coming from next door lol....all in all
it not very posh but its 400 years old, its clean and very good value for money. Just remember you maybe sharing your room with the resident ghosts and we were not in the most haunted rooms

Karen

Room Tip: ask for the modernised ones :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in November. We were give a lovely room, bathroom and towels lovely and clean, beds were very comfortable and freshly made. Room was very welcoming and warm. We had a good look around this hotel and yes it was quite cold in some areas and a little dated but this all added to the atmosphere, of this hotel. I would definitely return if up that way again, as had a Lovely evening meal, and a breakfast fit for a King, with so much selection and a lovely hot full English. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,039 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Alnwick Lodge
Alnwick Lodge
#23 of 68 in Alnwick
281 reviews
0.1 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
4.2 mi away
The Market Tavern and Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooner Hotel

Property: The Schooner Hotel
Address: 8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schooner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel
Alnmouth Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing