We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ghost hunt with spooky nightz events”
Review of The Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Schooner Hotel
Ranked #11 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“ghost hunt with spooky nightz events”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we went to the schooner last night on a ghost hunt with spooky nightz events and would like to thank the team for a very good night. they were very friendly and we had a brilliant night will be back :) seen and heard a lot of spooky things

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    102
    57
    47
    90
See reviews for
70
164
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

just had one night stay in this hotel ,had a very nice time,bit dated ,but found it very friendly,very close to a lovely beach,the locals an staff made us very welcome ,had breakfast which was very good ,defo a bit off a spooky feel to the place,but that made it more interesting,we had a very nice room comfy bed an very warm ,would recomened to anyone.

Room Tip: we didnt have much off a veiw but stayed in room 25 ,clean an comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mother24Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

First let me say that Alnmouth is lovely! But The Schooner Hotel is most definitely not!
The room I was given was in a very poor state, with peeling wallpaper, the inside of the door bashed in, the vanity light in the bathroom not working, long hairs in the bath and on the toilet top, and a thick layer of dust over everything. There were only teabags and no coffee in the room and the top of the kettle was very dirty, so maybe it didnt matter so much as that would have put me off using it. There was no heating on in the room all evening until the next morning and the window had been left open. The mattress was very thin and therefore very uncomfortable as there was no cushioning from the wooden boards of the bed base. Nice looking bed though. The worse thing was the evening meal which I ate in the cold, dark restaurant. The food itself was not too bad, but halfway through eating it a fly crawled out from under the pile of chips. It quite turned my stomach! The waitress offered me another bowl of chips! But no reduction in the price of the spoilt meal. Ugh.
Well maybe they do have ghosts there, not that I saw any, but so have a lot of places which are a lot cheaper and cleaner.

Room Tip: I really wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olderlady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alnmouth hotels

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Quite basic hotel. One staff member who checked us in and was serving at bar and food. Not much conversation from staff member. Room clean and perfectly comfortable. Food nothing to shout about. Definitely had a spooky atmosphere so stay here if you think you are hard enough lol

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth is a nice place to stay and very close to the beach. The staff are all great and the service is excellent. The rooms are very clean and warm with plenty of hot water to soak away the aches and pains. Breakfast is very good with a wide choice. Stayed with my elderly Mother (84) and she loves it so much, she stays regularly. You can arrive by train as there is a station in Alnmouth and a regular bus service to Alnwick or Newcastle or further afield can be found on the doorstep. An ideal base for a holiday in Northumberland.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed in room 26. Very comfy double bed and really welcoming look to the room which had tea and coffee facilities and a big flat screen TV. The hotel is old but the current owner is doing a great job updating the place. Food was nice, real ale on tap and friendly helpful staff. Excellent value at £59.00 B&B.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rickthearmourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Returned to Alnmouth after spending our honeymoon some 46 years ago. Staff at the Schooner very welcoming and friendly. Room comfortable with North Sea views. Chose to have dinner at an excellent Italian restaurant a very pleasant surprise for such a small community. Breakfast was good with a limited selection.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooner Hotel

Property: The Schooner Hotel
Address: 8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schooner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel
Alnmouth Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing