We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Schooner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Schooner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Schooner Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Schooner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Schooner is conveniently positioned a stone's throw from a stunning beach. The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The staff are superb and a credit to the hotel.

Almouth is beuatiful and unspoilt. The Schooner makes an excellent base from which to explore the town and if you decide to swim in the icy sea you will be comforted that a hot shower is mere yards away.

Room Tip: The side of the hotel facing the main high street can be a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DorneyCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoonerhotel, Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit the Schooner hotel again in the future.
Kind regards
Matthew walker, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    99
    55
    44
    77
See reviews for
66
156
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Staff all very friendly and helpful but the hotel is in dire need of a facelift. Wallpaper was hanging off bathroom walls, decor all a bit tatty but clean. No drinking glasses in room and both mornings had to ask for salt and pepper at breakfast, also no milk on table for coffee. Breakfast itself was wholesome and well cooked but a bit indelicate and industrial with everything just piled on plate. Evening meal was good and tasty if lacking a bit in presentation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a lovely stay, in a beautiful location. Mick, Matt and all the their staff made us feel welcome and well looked after. Our family room was modern with an added touch of period features, very roomy. The food was outstanding, we recommend Sunday lunch and thoroughly enjoyed the Indian menu. It had a relaxing atmosphere throughout the day and night, our daughter enjoyed playing pool in the conservatory. Watch out for those ghosts......and skeletons.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zoowitchproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoonerhotel, General Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving a lovely review for are future guests to read.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Schooner hotel.
We will pass your positive comments on to the chefs in the kitchen and let them know how much you enjoyed your meals.
Many thanks, Matthew Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

My friends and arrived at the Schooner to check in on Sat 1st June 2013. For a few of us, this was our second visit, as we enjoyed it so much the last time! Since we last visited, the hotel has undergone refurbishment in the main bar and reception area. We were greeted by Matt, the hotel Manager, and informed us our rooms were getting prepared and would be ready in thirty mins . We sat at the bar and had a drink while we waited. I must note however that check in isn't normally until 3pm, and we arrived at around 1.30pm, so it was very accommodating of the staff to ensure our rooms were ready as quick as possible. We were given rooms 28, and 29, and another three of my friends were given the flat, which consisted of two huge double bedrooms, a kitchen area, and bathroom. Both rooms were decorated beautifully, and were spotlessly clean. I had heard and read about the reputation of rooms 28, 29, and was rather apprehensive about staying in room 28! On entering the stairwell leading to these rooms on the top floor, I felt an overwhelming eerie presence. It felt different to the rest of the hotel, and did spook us slightly! On entering the room we found it very nicely decorated, and very clean, with towels and soap neatly placed at the bottom of the beds. The beds were all perfectly made with clean white cotton sheets. My only negative is that the mattress was too hard for me, although my friends were very comfortable with theirs being firmer. The bathroom was very clean also. My friends and I booked to go on the Ghost hunt with Medium Ray Bokor. We paid £59 pp for bed, breakfast, and ghost hunt from 9pm until 1am. Good value for money. Ray kept us entertained all evening, and we heard and saw things that confirmed to us all that there are many more residents in that hotel, other than the guests!!!!! The only problem I had was getting off to sleep that night! I did hear many unexplained noises throughout the night. Some tapping, some banging. Maybe it was mind playing tricks on me, or maybe not!!!! Without a doubt though, there is something very spooky about this place. If you get the chance, I urge you to do the ghost hunt. It's an experience not to be missed! Top marks also go in for breakfast too. Full English, freshly cooked, with toast, tea, coffee, fresh orange/apple juice, all brought to our table. It was delicious, and just what we needed to start the day! Another great stay at the Schooner, which didn't disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoonerhotel, General Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a fantastic review regarding your stay at the Schooner hotel.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and we hope to welcome you and your party back again in the near future.
Best wishes, Matthew Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

The perfect balance: warm and homely, very welcoming but no obligation to chat, clean well decorated rooms, that beg you to dump your bags and just relax. The food is delicious, quality ingredients prepared to high standard, the chef is fabulous. The steak was melt in the mouth and the selection of drinks tempted me to an evening hanging out at the bar enjoying the other residents and staff, but I could have quite easily sat in one of the many corners and read my book. My room was over the bar and on the evening I went to bed early, the sound didn't carry at all. I usually stay in travel lodges as you never know with private hotels but the Schooner was the perfect balance and I am already planning my next trip as it is rare to find a hotel I enjoy as I am a homebody. I picked it because it was near Alnwick gardens but the scenery was stunning with the beach and cliff walk minutes.away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schoonerhotel, General Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Schooner hotel, and we appreciate you taking the time to let other know your feedback.
Many thanks for choosing our Hotel and we hope you will visit again soon
Best wishes, Matthew Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at The Schooner on Sat 13th April, we were given Room 29 which was roomy, very clean and beautifully decorated. The service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. A nice relaxing day, followed by a brilliant night , lots of spooky goings-on with the brilliant Ray Bokor!

Breakfast the following morning was lovely, the lady serving us was really helpful even though she was very busy. All in all, a brilliant stay! Will definitely be back! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Caley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schooner A, General Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for you gracious comments on your stay with us, in particular a big thank you from our staff for your positive words on their service. Of course we are alway pleased to hear positive feedback about the hotel in general, but it is always nice when our staff are given a mention as to pass on your comments to them always lets them know how important their work is to the smooth running of the hotel.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a great time! Fun in the bar during the afternoon, good food then the ghost hunt!! Some weird goings on but it was exciting. Full English was lovely, freshly cooked and just the job after a late night. Will be going back!

Room Tip: Spooky rooms 16,17, 20 and 28!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schooner A, General Manager at The Schooner Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review on your stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed the ghost hunt and the cuisine offered at the hotel along with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Schooner Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
2.7 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
St Valery Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Schooner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Schooner Hotel

Property: The Schooner Hotel
Address: 8 Northumberland Street | Alnmouth, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Schooner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Schooner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schooner Hotel
Alnmouth Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing