We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5* for Staff and service . . .”

The Hope and Anchor
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Alnmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Staff made our visit enjoyable as the barman and waitresses, one in particular, were attentive and friendly. We moved from our initial table as we were in the room with the pizza oven/kitchen and the room was very warm and gradually filled with smoke as the chef prepared steaks for Steak Night! We moved to a different part of the pub which was a basic layout of chairs and tables, with loud music being belted out from a speaker mounted on the wall, which was eventually turned down as we and another table asked if it could be.
My risotto was the best I've eaten as it was full of peppers and spinach, with lots of parmesan. My husband's mussel starter was good, but too many mussels with beards!
We'd like to return as we now live locally, as the Staff were so welcoming, but I'm not sure where we'd sit comfortably to enjoy our meal.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 4407KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

We ate in here last week and the meal was lovely. The staff were lovely and although they were fully booked they managed to squeeze us in.
We will certainly return next time we visit Northumberland

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank doreentobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

We voted on the fish and chips from here for our last night in Alnmouth, and it was the best we’ve had for a long time. Highly recommended.
We did dine in The Italian restaurant here earlier in the week and it was good. Good value if you go for their happy hour menu.
Also a nice gin menu!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hec1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

We returned yet again with friends for Sunday lunch. The food was fab and the gentleman who served us at the bar and took our order was lovely. Our food was served by a dark haired lady who also cleared our table at the end of the meal. She spoke not one word to us and emitted a feeling of total boredom. No eye contact, not one smile and a general couldn’t care a damn attitude.
Sorry to the lovely gentleman but we won’t be back!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019 via mobile

We had two lovely meals here -the first a birthday special night lovely food and delicious wine -pushes the boat out and they had great choices for all courses-return was steak night very good again and everyone enjoyed tremendously

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hope and Anchor also viewed

 
Alnmouth, Alnwick
 

Been to The Hope and Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing