We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of The Hope & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hope & Anchor
Ranked #5 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We paid GBP120.00 for one night in a family room (very small double and 2 single beds) which is definitely too much. Pub food was good and breakfast OK. Parking an issue - pot luck with finding a space on the road! Would not go back to this hotel (PUB) again as accommodation way over-priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilhils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    88
    42
    22
    12
See reviews for
39
145
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed on a saturday and sunday with kgb deal and parking is pot luck to get a space we had to drive around a few times till someone moved it is a dated village pub but that just adds to its charm with an open fire and cosy feel.The rooms are dated with 1970s bathroom suite and tartan carpets we had a room overlooking the main street and although the windows were not double glazed and had a 2 inch gap in the top because it couldnt close properly we slept well as it is such a quiet village there was no traffic noise and the beds were very comfortable.The breakfast was very nice with a large selection.The town has only 3 pubs which are mostly catering for diners so dont expect any night life not even a juke box but its nice if you like that sort of thing and alnwick is just along the road but we wont be returning. ghost town.Also take cash as theres no cash machine.

Room Tip: the puffin room the window does not close
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate at the Hope and Anchor on two evenings during our stay in Alnmouth. The first time in the pub, then in the adjoining Italian restaurant (same menu/chef, just served in different rooms).
To be honest the pub staff didn't appear to have a clue as to what was on the menu, and although being friendly were not particularly helpful in this respect. The food was fine when it arrived though.
On the second occasion we managed to eat in the 'Italian', where the staff were a little more clued-up. My veggie aubergine dish was particularly tasty, but my partner's ricotta frittata arrived minus the ricotta! When we raised this issue it was immediately rectified, along with profuse apologies. Overall we can recommend either/both for an enjoyable meal at reasonable value for money. Both can get very busy at weekends and may be worth booking in advance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambridge78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

A mid week break in Northumberland, in March, not everyones cup of tea, but Almouth is such a beautiful village with stunning beaches. The Hope and Anchor made us very welcome and our room was very comfortable with real feather duvets and firm comfortable beds. The hospitality tray contained hot chocolate mix, very welcome on a cold day.
Breakfast had to be ordered the night before, but came fresly cooked. The breakfast coffee was delicious.
Our evening meal was taken in the pub, however there is an ajoining resturant, serving mainly italian food. Our freshly cooked cod and chips was fine, portions are large and we ate infront of a blazing log fire.
One small critcism, there was no electric point near to the beroom mirror, so I could not use my hot brush.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HazelA904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First impressions of Hope & Anchor were not great - check in was rather rushed and conducted over a busy public bar and on being shown to our room there was a strong smell of damp.

However after two nights Im pleased to say we did warm somewhat to the place.

Alnmouth itself is a gem with some fanastic local restaurants, shops and a glorious beach.

At the pub, all the staff were lovely and friendly, everything was clean, we had two good nights sleep and our room was warm, comfortable and with decent beds, duvets and pillows. The hospitality tray was great and breakfast, taken in The Italia restaurant next door, and was well cooked and plentiful. We particularly liked the way that dog owners were still able to take breakfast with their pets, but in a seperate area to those without - a nice touch.

On the downside, the bathroom was very dated and tired (the blue plastic sink/bath covered in hard water stains were not very nice), the window frames were all in need of replacing, the carpet took me back to the late 1970's and that damp smell never really went away.

NB the pub has no dedicated parking spaces so you have to fight with everyone else for a space on the roadside. In early March this was difficult enough - in the height of summer I can imagine its a nightmare if you arrive late!

In writing this review I did consider rating the Hope & Anchor as average but to be fair, if you overlook the cosmetic issues that abounded in the rooms, the overall product on offer is pretty good (certainly at the KGB voucher rate) and we didnt actually want for anything during our stay.

Some serious money has clearly been spent updating the restaurant/breakfast area and I hope that over time a similar update will take place in the rooms. If you can get this place on a deal and arent too concerned about appearances then its a decent place to stay. At full price there is much better on offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed with a KGB deal at the Hope and Anchor in early March and had a very pleasant time. The staff were all cheerful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were in Seagull room, which was lovely, clean, bright and warm with comfy bed and ample tea making facilities. The bathroom was large with electric shower and bath, although very clean could just do with slight tidying around the edges but nothing to worry about.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, served in the dining room, separate from guests with dogs who ate in the bar. In the evenings we ate in the hotel's Italian restaurant, which was excellent and as a bonus had a happy hour when all food was half price..We would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a KGB deal. First impressions are that the pub / accomodation is ok. The staff are really friendly. We however ended up in the Curlew roon at the back above the kitchen and overlooking the bins area. The issue isn't the fact the views not great, its the constant din from the extractor fan. We were told it would be switched off ehen the kitchens closed at 9pm but unfortunately it wasn't.
In addition to the sleep problem, we showered about 7pm and the water was cold side of luke warm.
Not the best stay we've had and can't see me coming back again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
4.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,003 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
385 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Saddle Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope & Anchor

Property: The Hope & Anchor
Address: 42-44 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope & Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hope & Anchor. We are currently in the progress of refurbishing our bedrooms! We are hoping they all will be completed Easter 2016! Our bar & restaurants are still open and you're more than welcome to join us for the evening for a few drinks and a spot of food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hope & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hope & Anchor Hotel Alnmouth
The Hope And Anchor
Hope Anchor Alnmouth
The Hope & Anchor Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing