We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly pub with rooms but the rooms do need updating!”
Review of The Hope & Anchor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hope & Anchor
Ranked #4 of 11 Alnmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

First impressions of Hope & Anchor were not great - check in was rather rushed and conducted over a busy public bar and on being shown to our room there was a strong smell of damp.

However after two nights Im pleased to say we did warm somewhat to the place.

Alnmouth itself is a gem with some fanastic local restaurants, shops and a glorious beach.

At the pub, all the staff were lovely and friendly, everything was clean, we had two good nights sleep and our room was warm, comfortable and with decent beds, duvets and pillows. The hospitality tray was great and breakfast, taken in The Italia restaurant next door, and was well cooked and plentiful. We particularly liked the way that dog owners were still able to take breakfast with their pets, but in a seperate area to those without - a nice touch.

On the downside, the bathroom was very dated and tired (the blue plastic sink/bath covered in hard water stains were not very nice), the window frames were all in need of replacing, the carpet took me back to the late 1970's and that damp smell never really went away.

NB the pub has no dedicated parking spaces so you have to fight with everyone else for a space on the roadside. In early March this was difficult enough - in the height of summer I can imagine its a nightmare if you arrive late!

In writing this review I did consider rating the Hope & Anchor as average but to be fair, if you overlook the cosmetic issues that abounded in the rooms, the overall product on offer is pretty good (certainly at the KGB voucher rate) and we didnt actually want for anything during our stay.

Some serious money has clearly been spent updating the restaurant/breakfast area and I hope that over time a similar update will take place in the rooms. If you can get this place on a deal and arent too concerned about appearances then its a decent place to stay. At full price there is much better on offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 270 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed with a KGB deal at the Hope and Anchor in early March and had a very pleasant time. The staff were all cheerful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. We were in Seagull room, which was lovely, clean, bright and warm with comfy bed and ample tea making facilities. The bathroom was large with electric shower and bath, although very clean could just do with slight tidying around the edges but nothing to worry about.
Breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, served in the dining room, separate from guests with dogs who ate in the bar. In the evenings we ate in the hotel's Italian restaurant, which was excellent and as a bonus had a happy hour when all food was half price..We would definitely be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a KGB deal. First impressions are that the pub / accomodation is ok. The staff are really friendly. We however ended up in the Curlew roon at the back above the kitchen and overlooking the bins area. The issue isn't the fact the views not great, its the constant din from the extractor fan. We were told it would be switched off ehen the kitchens closed at 9pm but unfortunately it wasn't.
In addition to the sleep problem, we showered about 7pm and the water was cold side of luke warm.
Not the best stay we've had and can't see me coming back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have just returned from 2nights here with our dog Zara. Our room was warm and cosy and the bed was enormous and the room spacious The room was very clean and pleasantly decorated ,our bathroom even had a báth.

The staff could not have been any more helpful and made us both feel very welcome and our dog too.We ate in the pub on our first night and had some excellent crab pancakes, the smells from the Italian restaurant which is part of the pub were certainly inviting . This is a pub with rooms ,it is not a boutique hotel and doesn't profess to be so but it is warm ,cosy, clean and most certainly welcoming .It is minutes from the beach so well situated for enjoying this

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zarasmum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful weekend at the Hope and Anchor and wished we could have stayed for longer! The staff were really friendly and did a lovely job of looking after their guests, the rooms were clean and comfortable and we felt very much at home. We also ate in the adjoining Italian and would recommend that, too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were a bit apprehensive about the Hope and Anchor. We should'nt have been, it was great. All the staff were welcoming and friendly. Adrian ensured we were catered for at every opportunity. The young lad was also great as was the lady who welcomed us.
The room was fine with a extremely comfortsable bed, no noise other than some street noise in the morning.
The breakfast was great and we ate there on both nights and the food was very good especially the Italian menu which at happy hour is half price!! (4-5:30pm)
Would definitley go back!!

Room Tip: We were in a front room and the traffic could be heard, if your a light sleeper request a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dpsc05580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is the second time that we have stopped at the Hope and Anchor and have loved it both times. The new Italian restaurant serves gorgeous food and at good prices as well. The staff are very friendly and always polite.

We will be back again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWSWAshington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alnmouth
3.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
540 reviews
7.5 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,087 reviews
9.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Schooner Hotel
The Schooner Hotel
#11 of 11 in Alnmouth
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hope & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hope & Anchor

Address: 42-44 Northumberland Street, Alnmouth, Alnwick NE66 2RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Alnmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alnmouth
Price Range: $94 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hope & Anchor 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hope & Anchor. We are currently in the progress of refurbishing our bedrooms! We are hoping they all will be completed Easter 2016! Our bar & restaurants are still open and you're more than welcome to join us for the evening for a few drinks and a spot of food! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hope & Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hope & Anchor Hotel Alnmouth
The Hope And Anchor
Hope Anchor Alnmouth
The Hope & Anchor Alnmouth, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing